Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: BT5 freezing randomly

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default BT5 freezing randomly

    I finally got BT5 installed on my laptop (installed on HDD, single OS). I'm in the process of trying to get g0tmilk's fakeAP_pwn script working on BT5, tracking down new dirs where things are installed, etc. Anywhere from every 30 seconds to 5 minutes, the computer completely freezes. No response from anything. It's happened about 7 times so far and is frustrating as hell. Anybody else having this problem?

  2. #2
    Junior Member Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    Im facing the same problems also when i do many other things.I don't know what cause the problem.Hope any one can help...
    The problem exists with 32bit and 64bit KDE. Gnome 64bit seems not to have the problem...
    I close many desktop effects but it can not solve...
    Many lines in Xorg.0.log write as below:

    __glXDRIbindTexImage: Failed to register texture offset override

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    Sorry, KDE, x64.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Deadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    I have a similar problem with both x32 & x64 KDE. Notably, when I click on minimized firefox in the KDE panel it freezes completely. Also, choppy when connecting to network via wicd. I've disabled desktop effects which seems to have helped a bit.

    Might be related to this unresolved kde bug: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=260285
    Last edited by Deadboy; 05-12-2011 at 07:17 PM.
    "Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users? "

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO ewiget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    if you have ati cards, this is a known issue with the current kernel and the non-proprietary driver. If you install the ati-drivers, no more lock-ups (I'm running 11-05 on kde 64 bit and no lockups since I switch to the fglrx kernel module)
    Ed Wiget
    "Job security -- feeding the gates empire!"

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    I'm also having a freezing issue. I've installed BackTrack 5 to a external hard drive (A previous laptop hard drive which is now in a SATA - USB enclosure). Everything went fine with the installation. I went and installed the nVidia GPU driver from the website (270.41.06) and was all successful. I had to run prepare-kernel-sources before hand so the nVidia installer knew where the kernel source tree was.

    However sometimes BackTrack will just freeze up, mouse stops moving, cant kill X, no response from any command. It doesn't freeze up at the same place it happens randomly. Not sure what it could be.

    Specs:
    • BackTrack 5 32 bit with KDE
    • nVidia 8200M G GPU
    • WD Scorpio Blue 160 GB Hard Drive


    Thanks

  7. #7
    Junior Member Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    Now it's clear that the problem happens when sometimes we click some minimized apps on taskbar...

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    I'm using 32bit gnome and am having this problem as well I can't pinpoint exactly what it is. But I'm thinking it does have to do with minimizing or maximizing. Not sure though. I had opened about four terminals then it froze. Then had to power off computer. Couldn't even restart.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    If you installed the driver you should be able to go into the start bar/application bar, go to settings and there should be a nvidia application, open it and go to PowerMizer, change the setting from Adaptive to Prefer Maximum Performance. I have the exact same card and I have to do that every time I start up.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT5 freezing randomly

    My notebook freezed after 3hours airodump cause I clicked something on the taskbar... thx for that buggy BT5... I use BT4 now....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. synaptics trackpad randomly working
    By fungi in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 01:05 AM
  2. extrange problem randomly changes card CHANNEL alfa awus036h
    By Cachufleta in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 11:03 AM
  3. SSLStrip working/failing randomly
    By v3rsificator in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Software Related Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 01:18 PM
  4. hydra works randomly
    By wasto in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 05:42 PM
  5. Laptop Freezing
    By buttzilla in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-11-2007, 05:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •