Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default 回复: Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    i left it there when i went to school(99%).............when i came back home........it was still at 99%
    p.s. it is installed in virtual box and os is unbutu

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    I had the same problem with vmware player.Try using VirtualBox.That will take some time aswell but a t least it finishes the installation.When the installation reaches 99% you will have to work for half an hour and it will go on.At least that is what i have experienced.

    Greetings

  3. #13
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: 回复: Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    Quote Originally Posted by adsl007ku View Post
    i left it there when i went to school(99%).............when i came back home........it was still at 99%
    p.s. it is installed in virtual box and os is unbutu
    Why not download the VMware image and import it to VirtualBox ?
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    clean up scripts.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default 回覆: Re: 回复: Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    i thought virtualbox only works with ISO, not IMG files

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    the same...

    with gnome 32 and also with kde32.

    99% and still blocked. dvd try again and again but still 99 for over an hour.
    It's a old sistem with P4 3.0 and 1gb ram but bt4 always worked like a charm. And also form live dvd bt5 works very well.


    But.... 99% forever....

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    Quote Originally Posted by krillerill View Post
    are you sure it really hangs?

    my install was sitting on 99% for 5 mins, as i noticed HDD working i let it continue, then 5 min later it stated "almost done" instead of "soon done" then 5 min after that it was installed.

    me too!even my laptop takes more time to complete and i only assigning 3.2 GB of RAM to my virtual machine

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I have the same issue using Ubuntu 11.04 and the latest build of Virtualbox.
    I get an error after it sits at 99% for a while. Error reading from the DVD.... dirty blah blah blah <-- ISO no dirt!
    I have downloaded the 64bit ISO three times, and used a known good copy from a friend.

    My settings:
    12 GB for the hard drive (dynamic) - SATA ACHI is on
    1024 for the memory
    Ubuntu 64 for the framework
    12 MB for video
    NAT
    Default audio settings
    No USB

    It seems to fail at copying files for some reason.

    I am going to burn the ISO to disk and try using the disk and not the ISO.

    Using a real DVD worked for me. It was very slow at 99%, but it did work.

    I did this using a 32 bit version. I have not tried it on 64 yet, but think it will work the same.

    Good luck,

    Dalobo
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 10-19-2011 at 07:40 AM. Reason: Merged

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalobo View Post
    [...]I get an error after it sits at 99% for a while. Error reading from the DVD.... dirty blah blah blah <-- ISO no dirt![...]
    Did you checked the ISO md5?

    Also did you checked the VMware/Virtualbox logs?
    Great minds have purposes, others have wishes

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: BT5 Gnome 32bit install hangs at 99%

    Its supposed to do that. I'm guessing it just has alot to do at that point in time.
    RIP SHIRLEY 10/11/2008

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 08:46 AM
  2. bt3 dont boot in vista 32bit
    By t_virus in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 11:14 AM
  3. Install Gnome + Aptitude in BT3?
    By ESC201 in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-14-2008, 06:34 AM
  4. Install to HD hangs
    By Skylinux in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-15-2007, 08:26 PM
  5. Trying BT install on 4GB USB stick - hangs!
    By Naujoks in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 12:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •