Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 111

Thread: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

  1. #101
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    thx maverik35

    but I gave up, lol
    there's no configure, also no make, just a makefile
    though the driver I downloaded was listed on the awus036nh page, the readme is about some rt2870STA
    the awus I have is GE-RT3070, I see some rt3070 file in amongst the files, but I have no idea D:

    maybe it's easier to fix the driver unload/load in another way

  2. #102
    Junior Member MrWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    Hi!
    Anybody knows if this adapter supports promiscuous mode?
    I tried to sniff data with Wireshark, but no success. I suspect it doens't actually support promiscuous mode.
    I easily put it in monitor mode, though.
    I'm Winston Wolf, I solve problems

  3. #103
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    I spent months on this. Every now and again the card would work, regardless of whether I'd updated the drivers or the OS...seemingly no logic. Anyway, THIS works for my VM, so it merits my first ever post:

    0) It goes without saying, you should attempt to install the latest drivers with apt-get or at least install them from your CD. Several posts within this thread show how to do this.

    1) simply pulling the AWUS036NH out of the USB socket, sticking it back in then entering iwlist wlan0 scanning works every 4th or 5th repetition. Once the list of visible APs pops up, it is indicative that everything will subsequently work - injection, monitoring, everything. Yes, I know, it makes little sense.

    Very low tech, unsatisfying, but for me it actually works.

    2) Better solution:
    i) add blacklist rt2870sta to the end of the blacklist file via this command:
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
    then save and close the file. You only need to do this once. (I did not have to blacklist the rt2800usb nor bring it back up with modprobe).

    ii) create a script in your home (/root) directory consisting of the following. Helps to give it a short name e.g. alfa. Run this each time you log on with the command ./alfa

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    clear
    echo "Prepping AWUS036NH"
    iw reg set BO
    iwconfig wlan0 txpower 30
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    iwlist wlan0 scanning
    (if you need info on making a simple script, go to http://www.linfo.org/create_shell_1.html )

    Any woes - just hit up arrow and enter to do it again. Once you are presented with a list of visible APs, everything is good.


    The above is clearly just a time saver for a handful of commands to get your card ready, I cannot see how on earth this fixed my problem (the blacklist addition on its own did not work), but for me it works every time. Hopefully at least one other person will find this works for them too.

    _____________
    System - VMWare Player 4.0.1 build-528992
    AWUS036NH
    Guest OS - BT5R3
    Host OS - Win 7 Pro

  4. #104
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    I'd like to add to this interesting thread. I have TP-Link TL-WN7200ND usb card which have the same chipset (RT3070) (drivers for the subject Alfa are compatible with my card), and this setup:
    - win xp pro sp3
    - vmware 8.0.0 build-471780 (a bit old, i know)
    and i'm having the same problems as discussed on VM setups. So I tried to check the card on virtual Win XP and got nearly the same issues: the card saw the AP's and connected to them, but the connection didn't exchange data and in few minutes the speed dropped to some 5,6 Kbps (!?).. So i'm assuming this VMs + drivers + usb cards setups definitely have issues somewhere (most likely inside VMs).. In the host OS the card works fine. It seems I'll have to make a hard install of BT5..

  5. #105
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    odd
    if I use it in VM it works without any problem

    when booting BT5 on my notebook, I use above script to "recognize" the AWUS. Plugging/Unplugging a lot doesn't work, the blue LED is always on if I don't use the script above
    seems like there's no solution beside the script :/
    maybe BT6 has some kind of fix for this (and on a sidenote: also a bluetooth fix) ^^

  6. #106
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    Quote Originally Posted by wing23 View Post
    odd
    if I use it in VM it works without any problem

    when booting BT5 on my notebook, I use above script to "recognize" the AWUS. Plugging/Unplugging a lot doesn't work, the blue LED is always on if I don't use the script above
    seems like there's no solution beside the script :/
    maybe BT6 has some kind of fix for this (and on a sidenote: also a bluetooth fix) ^^
    Good you didn't give up at all. As a matter of fact you stated somthing you found out:
    "Alfa AWUS036NH works well in VM but not in HDD installs"..So far so good. You tested it and you came up with it backing it up with tests...

    Now let's see if some else have had any issues in VM..I read someplace in this forum saying: "Alfa AWUS036NH works right out of the box"..????/ VM?.....HDD install?....USB?...

    Please post all info needed...It might be a bug...

  7. #107
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    hi
    it may be useful.. I ran three tests with my "second-favorite-wifi-card" 36nh!
    tests were carried out in my house (ground floor) with windows and shutters closed! ..
    I used the driver "DEFAULT" in BT5-r3 with txpower 20db (DEFAULT)

    1) MY wifi-usb-card:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/37/alfa36nh.jpg/

    2) run 36NH in VMware-player: #bt5-r3_32_gnome
    http://imageshack.us/f/835/36nhvmwareplayer.png/

    3) run 36NH in Virtualbox: #bt5-r3_32_kde
    http://imageshack.us/f/843/36nhvirtualbox.png/

    4) run 36NH in HDD-install #bt5-r3_64_gnome
    http://imageshack.us/f/6/36nhhddinstall.png/

    bye

  8. #108
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    Quote Originally Posted by zimmaro View Post
    hi
    it may be useful.. I ran three tests with my "second-favorite-wifi-card" 36nh!
    tests were carried out in my house (ground floor) with windows and shutters closed! ..
    I used the driver "DEFAULT" in BT5-r3 with txpower 20db (DEFAULT)

    1) MY wifi-usb-card:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/37/alfa36nh.jpg/

    2) run 36NH in VMware-player: #bt5-r3_32_gnome
    http://imageshack.us/f/835/36nhvmwareplayer.png/

    3) run 36NH in Virtualbox: #bt5-r3_32_kde
    http://imageshack.us/f/843/36nhvirtualbox.png/

    4) run 36NH in HDD-install #bt5-r3_64_gnome
    http://imageshack.us/f/6/36nhhddinstall.png/

    bye
    Well guys, clearer than water..It works as stated by zimmaro, very clear and documented with pics..Using default driver...

    Anyone else with info, please will be very appreciatted by this community..

    Thanx zimmaro, excellent imput and help as always.. and just for the record, can you post the module used by kernel?.It is important to all of us...

    Luck.

  9. #109
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Well guys, clearer than water..It works as stated by zimmaro, very clear and documented with pics..Using default driver...

    Anyone else with info, please will be very appreciatted by this community..

    Thanx zimmaro, excellent imput and help as always.. and just for the record, can you post the module used by kernel?.It is important to all of us...

    Luck.
    hi maverik35

    I hope to get it done right! (I'm not very handy with the "bash-commands" && photo)
    1)vmware-player lsmod-36NH:
    http://imageshack.us/f/585/36nhlsmodvmwareplayer.png/

    2)Virtualbox lsmod-36NH:
    http://imageshack.us/f/13/36nhlsmodvirtualbox.png/

    3)HDD-install lsmod-36NH:
    http://imageshack.us/f/832/36nhlsmodhddinstall.png/

    bye

  10. #110
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 Alfa AWUS036NH

    Hey guys I could really use some help here. I am running VM with BackTrack5 R3 installed using the Gnome 64bit version.

    I am trying to get my AWUS036NHR to work and I am following these instructions: http://store.rokland.com/blogs/news/...nux-compatible

    However, I receive this warning when I run the install.sh: Warning: Symbol version dump /usr/src/linux-source-3.2.6/module.symvers
    is missing; modules will have no dependencies and modversions.

    As I go further down I see:

    make[2]: ***[/root/desktop/driver/rtl8192_8188cu_linux_v3.0.2164.20110715/core/rtw_cmd.o] Error 1
    make[1]: ***[_module_/root/desktop/driver/rtl8192_8188cu_linux_v3.0.2164.20110715] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-source-3.2.6'
    make: ***[modules] Error 2
    Compile make driver error: 2, Please check error Mesg


    I have tried running prepare-kernel-sources and that goes fine

    then I run cd /usr/src/linux and I receive this error "No such file or directory"

    I have not been able to get to this step yet cp -rf include/generated/* include/linux/


    Can anyone help me?

    Thanks

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BackTrack 4 R2 e Alfa AWUS036NH.
    By kenny72 in forum Discussioni Generali
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-04-2011, 06:41 PM
  2. asus eee pc 900 + alfa awus036nh
    By lizdainis in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 01:27 PM
  3. Alfa AWUS036NH
    By PaRrO in forum Angolo Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 11:21 AM
  4. I need a help please !! ALFA AWUS036NH
    By f2666 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •