Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installation of BT stucked @ ISOLINUX

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Installation of BT stucked @ ISOLINUX

    Hello everyone!

    I have problem with installing BT5 via DVD. Everytime I want to boot BT from DVD, ISOLINUX pops up (2 lines, first is about tool and its author, second starts with "boot: " and expects input from me). I don't have any experience working with that tool /shell / whatever it is. Any unix-like command I can remember fails.


    I downloaded .iso and checked md5. It matches with one provided in torrent folder.
    I burned it on lowest speed (1x) with two different burners (XPBurner and Active ISO Burner) 3 times - none of DVD is working how it should (starts ISOLINUX).
    I checked md5 of burned files. Everything seems ok.
    I went through few tutorials how to burn .iso file step-by-step (just to mention, this was heavly overkill, I'm not rocky with Linux or .iso files).
    I found my old BT4 r2 DVD and it seems to boot nicely.

    I know I'm doing mistake somewhere, I just don't know where. And it's really frustrating. I feel like Goliath being constantly slapped by David.

    Thank you in advance.

    EDIT: BT5 - KDE - 64bit
    Last edited by Bukva; 05-11-2011 at 02:36 PM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Installation of BT stucked @ ISOLINUX

    Don't type anything and hit enter. I'm not sure why it does that but it did it to me. So enter is the answer. hope it works on yours as well.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Installation of BT stucked @ ISOLINUX

    Yeah, thanks, that worked!

  4. #4
    Member jenbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: Installation of BT stucked @ ISOLINUX

    i had the same thing so i switched to BT5 - GNOME - 64bit and works fine

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Installation of BT stucked @ ISOLINUX

    Is the md5 required for the installation of BT5 .when I boot with BT cd that I downloaded I got only the
    splash screen after i clicked on the first option .I search for the tutorial about BT5 installation I got some video tutorial , I followed that no way I cant able to jump from first screen

Similar Threads

  1. data and arp's got stucked!
    By smartyx99 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2010, 02:28 AM
  2. Boot stuck at "ISOLINUX ..."
    By Mists in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2009, 02:45 AM
  3. livecd boot hangs on isolinux screen
    By unlazyfree in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-30-2007, 05:34 AM
  4. isolinux problem
    By garompeta in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-22-2007, 11:37 PM
  5. isolinux/syslinux error: memtest not found [incl. fix]
    By af3556 in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2007, 11:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •