Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 61

Thread: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

  1. #51
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    This fix worked for me. I searched for "inappropriate ioctl for device" in the forum and was routed to this thread.

    Thanks for the info!

  2. #52
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Hey i Got the best Solution for that problem....

    Just have an ubuntu 10.4 in ur pc..
    or if it may be on ur friends pc.. go there and Copy the comlete "/var" folder and now boot your BT by bootable disk and replace the var with ur copied 1....

    But first conform that the var u r coping must include the drivers.. of the display....

  3. #53
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Breda, Noord-Brabant, the Netherlands, Europe, Earth
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Well, i've tried all the options above on my bt5 kde 64 which i installed from dvd onto my laptop... And even through the removing of the two folders or files (the iconcache and the plasma one) solved the problem before installation. Startx worked like a charm and the installation went without a hitch. Even the eth0 and wlan0 were detected and configured and working.

    After reboot though i'm having the blinking capslock and numlock while the screen goes black. It happens when i use
    Code:
    xinit
    Code:
    startx
    or
    Code:
    anyothercmd
    from the command line to get into the gui.
    And those... darned.. led's were beginning to annoy me very very very much..

    As i had just given up getting slackware 1337 64 to run my network (eth0, or wlan0 wouldn't work :S) i wasn't looking forward to having to choose another distro to try on my little side partition, and to be honest, which other distro offers you this much eerm.. penetration testing fun?? So i stuck with it, having noticed the problem lied in the xserver not in kde....

    But i got nowhere real fast. But then, just when i had burned me an Opensuse 11.4 64 dvd I FOUND IT!!!

    Here's the final solution:

    http://joachims-techtips.blogspot.com/2011/06/backtrack-5-and-startx-crashes-hard.html

    Basically it changes the boot from text to quiet and it ads a modeset to the cmd line....

    Reboot and BOOM!! Right into a nice gui logon screen after which you get into your KDE4 desktop.

  4. #54
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    System32
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    install 32bit .. and injoy

    it's very excellent version

  5. #55
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    worked for me thanks fnord0

  6. #56
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Hey guys:
    I have the same problem booting backtrack 5 and I tried what fnord0 suggested and it worked... but I have to keep typing the same commands everytime I boot backtrack to get it to work, so it hasnt been a permanent solution for me. what do you suggest?

    Vic

  7. #57
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by agvic View Post
    Hey guys:
    I have the same problem booting backtrack 5 and I tried what fnord0 suggested and it worked... but I have to keep typing the same commands everytime I boot backtrack to get it to work, so it hasnt been a permanent solution for me. what do you suggest?

    Vic
    Upgrade to Backtrack 5 R1.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  8. #58
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Hi,
    I've got the same problem with BT5 KDE installed in a USB pen, when I try to launch it on my Santech M58 with Win 7 64 bit.
    Should the above 'rm' commands work with live operative systems too?
    I've tryed them once but they didn't work

  9. #59
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by BeNeDeLuX View Post
    Thanks fnord0.
    Perfect! Works just fine for me.

    @Mods
    Please add this fix to the FAQ.
    Not everybody search this solution under Bugs...
    After type apears "no such file or directory"

    what i have to do?
    what i did wrong?

  10. #60
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by kandinsky View Post
    After type apears "no such file or directory"

    what i have to do?
    what i did wrong?
    I get the same error when trying to start X.
    The thing is... I do get a working screen and I can see the first of 4 icons loading but as soon as the first icon is not blinking (it's loaded) the X crashes.
    It worked before. The only difference between then and now is that there was an apt-get update + apt-get upgrade in between.

    Logs are ... not saying much.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 05:03 AM
  2. startx Problem
    By FurryTurtle in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 06:32 PM
  3. Startx problem. Sudo startx works
    By chris_heyward in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  4. startx problem
    By WuQ_pl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 04:54 PM
  5. Startx problem
    By digiuk in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 01:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •