Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 61

Thread: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

  1. #41
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Well if removing the cache directories in your home folder doesn't fix the problem, like it was on my machine, you also have to delete the /var/tmp/kdecache-<username> folder. It will also remove any modifications like added panels, icons added to the panel and so on. I will dig further into that issue to see which files and/or directories are exactly causing the issue.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  2. #42
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Yep, Same issue here, any ideas on how to make the fix permanent?

  3. #43
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    So it's not working definitely throught what I've seen

    my 32bit version is working just fine on my 1215n Asus. I do to much customisation to redo the same again. so I will wait the R1 to reinstall the 64 bits version.

  4. #44
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgibbon View Post
    Yep, Same issue here, any ideas on how to make the fix permanent?
    If you're doing an installation, use the fix on page 1 to startx. Then install, reboot, login as root, and at the command prompt:

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade
    apt-get dist-upgrade
    startx without issues after the updates are applied.

  5. #45
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Hi all, i had the "startx" problem and found that this worked for me

    where you would normally type "startx" type this first:

    cd /root/.kde/ press enter then type this:

    find . -type f -iname "*.kcache" -delete now type:

    startx

    this worked for me and i then installed backtrack and upon restart i had the "startx" problem again, i put in these commands again and now it's working fine every time i reboot, hope this helps as it has me


  6. #46
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default AW: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Nice work

    I use a Sony Subnotebook with vmware player 3.1.4 and got the same error

    I have use

    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache

    after thats the error was allready there then I have make


    X -configure

    thats creat a new xorg.conf.new in the root dir

    then

    mv /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    nano etc/X11/xorg.conf

    search for

    Section "Device"

    Driver "vmware"

    and change it too Driver "vesa"

    Thats work for me with my ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series

    I have test it only both things together works for me

    Then I use install script to install it and after one reboot with one more

    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache

    the system starts now perfect with out any mistake directly

    perhaps some one will help my little info


  7. #47
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Hello. I have a notebook hp g42-240br HP G42-240BR Intel Core i3-350 2.3GHz 6GB ram 500GB HD and i just installed bt5 32-bits GNU but i`m having a problem with the "startx" command... When i run bt5 from the dvd (as i am doing now) it works perfectly, but when i run it from the hard disk and type "startx" on the command screen the screen gets dark and caps lock start blinking... i tryed every thing i found on this topic but when i run commadis like " rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache" it says there there are no such files or directory... can anyone help me with this ?

  8. #48
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by fnord0 View Post
    w00t, I now have KDE4 64bit "WORKING"! here's the fix ::

    Code:
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    then 'startx', and there be the glorious KDE4 64bit on backtrack 5


    This worked for me:
    Acer Aspire 5741 i5 m 450 64-bit

  9. #49
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    I have an HP Pavillion dv6 Laptop. I've have been trying all the fixes on this thread tirelessly with no results. After I do all the commands and startx, I only see the first loading icon light up and then it goes to a black screen with the mouse pointer in the middle. I'm using the live CD, I cant even start to install BT
    I have Windows 7 and Ubuntu running right now. Any additional help would be really appreciated.
    Thanks.

  10. #50
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    I ran into the "inappropriate ioctl for device" error and this fix worked for me. I was lost at first, but a quick search in the forums lead me to this thread. A definite thanks for the fix!

    inappropriate ioctl for device

    THANKS!!

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 05:03 AM
  2. startx Problem
    By FurryTurtle in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 06:32 PM
  3. Startx problem. Sudo startx works
    By chris_heyward in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  4. startx problem
    By WuQ_pl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 04:54 PM
  5. Startx problem
    By digiuk in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 01:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •