Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 61

Thread: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

  1. #31
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Works for me!!! Thanks OP!!!

  2. #32
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by fnord0 View Post
    :: THREAD UPDATE + FIX ::

    here is the fix for backtrack5 KDE4 64bit ::
    Code:
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    then 'startx', and there be the glorious KDE4 64bit on backtrack 5 pics to prove it attached

    FYI => you will need to run the above 'rm' commands multiple times during the install and upgrade process. the rule is, if 'startx' fails on you, run the above commands.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I debated wether to put this post in BUGS or somewhere's else, but final decision was here.. MODs feel free to move it if I choose wrong.

    I am running VMware Workstation 7.1.4 (7.1.4 build-385536), Win7 ultimate x64 as host OS -> BT5-KDE4-64(.iso) as guest OS.
    (the BT5-GNOME-VM 32bit works great, btw)

    here's the issue I face currently. I can boot the BT5-KDE4-64(.iso) within VMware, and I choose the default text console, it boots fine... the trouble is that I cannot get KDE4 to work. as soon as I punch in 'startx' I see the initial graphical KDE4 start-up "loading.." screen with the 4 icons. the thing here is that the 1st icon is the ONLY icon that ever gets highlighted. after a few moments X errors out and kicks me to the text console again.

    here are the errors I get once xorg kicks me out ::
    Code:
    X.Org X Server 1.7.6
    Release Date: 2010-03-17
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.24-28-server x86_64 Ubuntu
    Current Operating System: Linux root 2.6.38 #1 SMP Thu Mar 17 22:59:29 EDT 2011 x86_64
    Kernel command line: file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz text splash vga=791-- BOOT_IMAGE=/casper/vmlinuz
    Build Date: 08 March 2011  08:22:34AM
    xorg-server 2:1.7.6-2ubuntu7.6 (For technical support please see http://www.ubuntu.com/support)
    Current version of pixman: 0.16.4
            Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
            to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
            (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
            (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed May 11 03:23:34 2011
    (==) Using config directory: "/usr/lib/X11/xorg.conf.d"
    error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x01000000, type = 1) Inappropriate ioctl for device (25)
    
    waiting for X server to shut down .error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x01000000, type = 1) Inappropriate ioctl for device (25)
     ddxSigGiveUp: Closing log
    here are some interesting errors from /var/log/messages ::
    Code:
    May 11 02:44:21 root kernel: [  601.390887] kded4[2515] trap divide error ip:7fe9a534b61f sp:7fff262eff70 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7fe9a50fd000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:44:31 root kernel: [  611.391138] kcminit_startup[2519] trap divide error ip:7fbe4161961f sp:7fffc2d6b4a0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7fbe413cb000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:44:41 root kernel: [  621.391287] ksmserver[2522] trap divide error ip:7fa4d9d2a61f sp:7fffe85241d0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7fa4d9adc000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:50:37 root kernel: [  977.391261] kded4[2693] trap divide error ip:7f3377fab61f sp:7fff76aee970 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f3377d5d000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:50:47 root kernel: [  987.390960] kcminit_startup[2697] trap divide error ip:7f154d85661f sp:7fff093a22a0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f154d608000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:50:57 root kernel: [  997.391154] ksmserver[2701] trap divide error ip:7feab2ee661f sp:7fff3c003690 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7feab2c98000+2c1000]
    I'm hoping someone can help me out, or has a suggestion on what to try. the fact being that the KDE4 graphical screen comes up just fine makes me think this isn't a graphical issue.

    of note, I did verify that my BT5-KDE4-64(.iso)'s md5 matches the one in the .txt file, so I believe the download was good. I did not burn the ISO to disc, I am just using the ISO itself in VMware to create a virtual machine.

    -- thanks backtrack team for everything you guys do! other then this issue with KDE, gnome has treated me perfect so far (both 32bit and 64!). I hope this KDE4 issue can get resolved, as I'd love to have a KDE4 64bit virtual machine up and running soon.

    Attachment 660Attachment 661
    This does work but logging out and back in again, the problem will return. Also can't launch apps after login (Ex. Konsole)

  3. #33
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by bisooo21 View Post
    HP Pavilion DV6 flashing caps lock after 'startx'
    i tried the solutions above ... not work
    Same here on an HP Pavilion dm4t.
    Both KDE-64 bit and GNOME 64-bit will boot, but neither can start the desktop environment without blanking out my screen. My screen goes black and caps lock is blinking. I tried all of the fixes they recommended for KDE - none of them helped.

    I'm thinking BT5 isn't ready yet. Put it back in the oven and test some more.
    Will there be a bug-fix version available?

    mcgoo

  4. #34
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by mojoMcGoo View Post
    Same here on an HP Pavilion dm4t.
    Both KDE-64 bit and GNOME 64-bit will boot, but neither can start the desktop environment without blanking out my screen. My screen goes black and caps lock is blinking. I tried all of the fixes they recommended for KDE - none of them helped.

    I'm thinking BT5 isn't ready yet. Put it back in the oven and test some more.
    Will there be a bug-fix version available?

    mcgoo
    By the way - I can boot it from USB drive, the problem is with an install to hard disk...

  5. #35
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by mojoMcGoo View Post
    Same here on an HP Pavilion dm4t.
    Both KDE-64 bit and GNOME 64-bit will boot, but neither can start the desktop environment without blanking out my screen. My screen goes black and caps lock is blinking. I tried all of the fixes they recommended for KDE - none of them helped.

    I'm thinking BT5 isn't ready yet. Put it back in the oven and test some more.
    Will there be a bug-fix version available?

    mcgoo
    I have similaar problem on HP Probook 6540b. Gnome 32/64 bit versions.

    It seems that install process does not create xorg.conf file in /etc/X11/. There is xorg.conf.failsafe only. So I managed to launch Gnome by creating xorg.conf from xorg.conf.failsafe.

    Or just: cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf.failsafe /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    After that startx works fine. Ofc you will need to tune this config with drivers and resolution, but it is a good start

  6. #36
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    This worked great for me! Thanks a lot!

  7. #37
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    i have been having problems with the 64 bit kde. the 32 works fine but it think its the radeon 5770 drivers..


    dmesg | grep radeon

    [ 5.354767] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
    [ 5.356053] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [ 5.357429] fb: conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs VESA VGA - removing generic driver
    [ 5.358991] radeon 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
    [ 5.358996] radeon 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [ 5.360834] radeon 0000:01:00.0: VRAM: 1024M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000003FFFFFFF (1024M used)
    [ 5.360838] radeon 0000:01:00.0: GTT: 512M 0x0000000040000000 - 0x000000005FFFFFFF
    [ 5.363006] [drm] radeon: 1024M of VRAM memory ready
    [ 5.363008] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [ 5.363066] radeon 0000:01:00.0: irq 47 for MSI/MSI-X
    [ 5.363070] radeon 0000:01:00.0: radeon: using MSI.
    [ 5.363098] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [ 5.364671] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/JUNIPER_pfp.bin"
    [ 5.364678] radeon 0000:01:00.0: disabling GPU acceleration
    [ 5.365715] radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff88021bb65000 unpin not necessary
    [ 5.365718] radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff88021bb65000 unpin not necessary
    [ 5.708188] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
    [ 6.067323] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    [ 6.067328] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.8.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    [ 7.522109] WARNING: at drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_gart.c:176 radeon_gart_bind+0x1ab/0x1c0 [radeon]()
    [ 7.523885] Modules linked in: radeon usbhid usb_storage ttm drm_kms_helper hid uas ahci libahci drm i2c_algo_bit pata_atiixp pata_jmicron r8169 mii
    [ 7.528303] [<ffffffffa012cdbb>] ? radeon_gart_bind+0x1ab/0x1c0 [radeon]
    [ 7.528916] [<ffffffffa012aa22>] ? radeon_ttm_backend_bind+0x32/0x90 [radeon]
    [ 7.533022] [<ffffffffa012c7ae>] ? radeon_bo_create+0x14e/0x2a0 [radeon]
    [ 7.533604] [<ffffffffa012c900>] ? radeon_ttm_bo_destroy+0x0/0xc0 [radeon]
    [ 7.534176] [<ffffffffa01436dc>] ? radeon_gem_object_create+0x8c/0x120 [radeon]
    [ 7.534742] [<ffffffffa01437c8>] ? radeon_gem_create_ioctl+0x58/0xd0 [radeon]
    [ 7.536406] [<ffffffffa0143770>] ? radeon_gem_create_ioctl+0x0/0xd0 [radeon]
    [ 7.540823] [drm:radeon_ttm_backend_bind] *ERROR* failed to bind 2025 pages at 0x00000000
    [ 7.541553] radeon 0000:01:00.0: object_init failed for (8294400, 0x00000002)
    [ 7.542097] [drm:radeon_gem_object_create] *ERROR* Failed to allocate GEM object (8294400, 2, 4096, -22)
    [ 7.543635] WARNING: at drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_gart.c:176 radeon_gart_bind+0x1ab/0x1c0 [radeon]()
    [ 7.545289] Modules linked in: radeon usbhid usb_storage ttm drm_kms_helper hid uas ahci libahci drm i2c_algo_bit pata_atiixp pata_jmicron r8169 mii
    [ 7.549356] [<ffffffffa012cdbb>] ? radeon_gart_bind+0x1ab/0x1c0 [radeon]
    [ 7.549947] [<ffffffffa012aa22>] ? radeon_ttm_backend_bind+0x32/0x90 [radeon]
    [ 7.553485] [<ffffffffa012c7ae>] ? radeon_bo_create+0x14e/0x2a0 [radeon]
    [ 7.554076] [<ffffffffa012c900>] ? radeon_ttm_bo_destroy+0x0/0xc0 [radeon]
    [ 7.554668] [<ffffffffa01436dc>] ? radeon_gem_object_create+0x8c/0x120 [radeon]
    [ 7.555259] [<ffffffffa01437c8>] ? radeon_gem_create_ioctl+0x58/0xd0 [radeon]
    [ 7.557007] [<ffffffffa0143770>] ? radeon_gem_create_ioctl+0x0/0xd0 [radeon]
    [ 7.561061] [drm:radeon_ttm_backend_bind] *ERROR* failed to bind 2025 pages at 0x00000000
    [ 7.561810] radeon 0000:01:00.0: object_init failed for (8294400, 0x00000002)
    [ 7.562378] [drm:radeon_gem_object_create] *ERROR* Failed to allocate GEM object (8294400, 2, 4096, -22)
    [ 7.567996] WARNING: at drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_gart.c:176 radeon_gart_bind+0x1ab/0x1c0 [radeon]()
    [ 7.568059] Modules linked in: radeon usbhid usb_storage ttm drm_kms_helper hid uas ahci libahci drm i2c_algo_bit pata_atiixp pata_jmicron r8169 mii
    [ 7.568225] [<ffffffffa012cdbb>] ? radeon_gart_bind+0x1ab/0x1c0 [radeon]
    [ 7.568256] [<ffffffffa012aa22>] ? radeon_ttm_backend_bind+0x32/0x90 [radeon]
    [ 7.568457] [<ffffffffa012c7ae>] ? radeon_bo_create+0x14e/0x2a0 [radeon]
    [ 7.568488] [<ffffffffa012c900>] ? radeon_ttm_bo_destroy+0x0/0xc0 [radeon]
    [ 7.568522] [<ffffffffa01436dc>] ? radeon_gem_object_create+0x8c/0x120 [radeon]
    [ 7.568556] [<ffffffffa01437c8>] ? radeon_gem_create_ioctl+0x58/0xd0 [radeon]
    [ 7.568615] [<ffffffffa0143770>] ? radeon_gem_create_ioctl+0x0/0xd0 [radeon]
    [ 7.568762] [drm:radeon_ttm_backend_bind] *ERROR* failed to bind 2025 pages at 0x00000000

  8. #38
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Works for me. Thanks a lot!

  9. #39
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by bojiogbka View Post
    I have similaar problem on HP Probook 6540b. Gnome 32/64 bit versions.

    It seems that install process does not create xorg.conf file in /etc/X11/. There is xorg.conf.failsafe only. So I managed to launch Gnome by creating xorg.conf from xorg.conf.failsafe.

    Or just: cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf.failsafe /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    After that startx works fine. Ofc you will need to tune this config with drivers and resolution, but it is a good start
    You can also run:

    Code:
    Xorg -configure
    to create and more custom xorg.conf for your machine. Your mileage may vary on it getting the best drivers sometimes but it usually does a good job. After running that code to generate your base xorg.conf, vendor drivers such as ATI let you run:

    Code:
    aticonfig -initial
    which will further customize your xorg with additional vendor settings.

  10. #40
    Junior Member keeley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    if you try to remove : backtrack-kde4-essential

    Code:
    apt-get remove backtrack-kde4-essetial
    kde 64 bit startx working ... i don't know but it working.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 05:03 AM
  2. startx Problem
    By FurryTurtle in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 06:32 PM
  3. Startx problem. Sudo startx works
    By chris_heyward in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  4. startx problem
    By WuQ_pl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 04:54 PM
  5. Startx problem
    By digiuk in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 01:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •