Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 61

Thread: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member fnord0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    144

    Exclamation BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    :: THREAD UPDATE + FIX ::

    here is the fix for backtrack5 KDE4 64bit ::
    Code:
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-root/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/icon-cache.kcache
    rm /root/.kde/cache-bt/plasma_theme_Volatile.kcache
    then 'startx', and there be the glorious KDE4 64bit on backtrack 5 pics to prove it attached

    FYI => you will need to run the above 'rm' commands multiple times during the install and upgrade process. the rule is, if 'startx' fails on you, run the above commands.

    as KMDave points out, you may need to also remove the cache folders in /var/tmp like so ::
    Code:
    rm -rf /var/tmp/kdecache-<username>
    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    Well if removing the cache directories in your home folder doesn't fix the problem, like it was on my machine, you also have to delete the /var/tmp/kdecache-<username> folder. It will also remove any modifications like added panels, icons added to the panel and so on.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I debated wether to put this post in BUGS or somewhere's else, but final decision was here.. MODs feel free to move it if I choose wrong.

    I am running VMware Workstation 7.1.4 (7.1.4 build-385536), Win7 ultimate x64 as host OS -> BT5-KDE4-64(.iso) as guest OS.
    (the BT5-GNOME-VM 32bit works great, btw)

    here's the issue I face currently. I can boot the BT5-KDE4-64(.iso) within VMware, and I choose the default text console, it boots fine... the trouble is that I cannot get KDE4 to work. as soon as I punch in 'startx' I see the initial graphical KDE4 start-up "loading.." screen with the 4 icons. the thing here is that the 1st icon is the ONLY icon that ever gets highlighted. after a few moments X errors out and kicks me to the text console again.

    here are the errors I get once xorg kicks me out ::
    Code:
    X.Org X Server 1.7.6
    Release Date: 2010-03-17
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.24-28-server x86_64 Ubuntu
    Current Operating System: Linux root 2.6.38 #1 SMP Thu Mar 17 22:59:29 EDT 2011 x86_64
    Kernel command line: file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz text splash vga=791-- BOOT_IMAGE=/casper/vmlinuz
    Build Date: 08 March 2011  08:22:34AM
    xorg-server 2:1.7.6-2ubuntu7.6 (For technical support please see http://www.ubuntu.com/support)
    Current version of pixman: 0.16.4
            Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
            to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
            (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
            (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Wed May 11 03:23:34 2011
    (==) Using config directory: "/usr/lib/X11/xorg.conf.d"
    error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x01000000, type = 1) Inappropriate ioctl for device (25)
    
    waiting for X server to shut down .error setting MTRR (base = 0xd0000000, size = 0x01000000, type = 1) Inappropriate ioctl for device (25)
     ddxSigGiveUp: Closing log
    here are some interesting errors from /var/log/messages ::
    Code:
    May 11 02:44:21 root kernel: [  601.390887] kded4[2515] trap divide error ip:7fe9a534b61f sp:7fff262eff70 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7fe9a50fd000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:44:31 root kernel: [  611.391138] kcminit_startup[2519] trap divide error ip:7fbe4161961f sp:7fffc2d6b4a0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7fbe413cb000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:44:41 root kernel: [  621.391287] ksmserver[2522] trap divide error ip:7fa4d9d2a61f sp:7fffe85241d0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7fa4d9adc000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:50:37 root kernel: [  977.391261] kded4[2693] trap divide error ip:7f3377fab61f sp:7fff76aee970 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f3377d5d000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:50:47 root kernel: [  987.390960] kcminit_startup[2697] trap divide error ip:7f154d85661f sp:7fff093a22a0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f154d608000+2c1000]
    May 11 02:50:57 root kernel: [  997.391154] ksmserver[2701] trap divide error ip:7feab2ee661f sp:7fff3c003690 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7feab2c98000+2c1000]
    I'm hoping someone can help me out, or has a suggestion on what to try. the fact being that the KDE4 graphical screen comes up just fine makes me think this isn't a graphical issue.

    of note, I did verify that my BT5-KDE4-64(.iso)'s md5 matches the one in the .txt file, so I believe the download was good. I did not burn the ISO to disc, I am just using the ISO itself in VMware to create a virtual machine.

    -- thanks backtrack team for everything you guys do! other then this issue with KDE, gnome has treated me perfect so far (both 32bit and 64!). I hope this KDE4 issue can get resolved, as I'd love to have a KDE4 64bit virtual machine up and running soon.

    bt4-kde4_x64-startup.jpgbt5-KDE4-64-startx-error.jpg
    Immagini allegate Immagini allegate
    Last edited by fnord0; 06-06-2011 at 04:57 AM.
    'see the fnords!'

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    I'm facing similar issues running kde x64 on my Dell Inspiron 1545

    Xorg though is not giving back any errors at all as far as I can tell:

    Code:
    ....
    (**) Option "xkb_rules" "evdev"
    (**) Option "xkb_model" "pc105"
    (**) Option "xkb_layout" "us"
    (**) Option "xkb_options" "lv3:ralt_switch"
    (II) Video Bus: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
    (II) Power Button: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
    (II) Sleep Button: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
    (II) Integrated_Webcam_1.3M: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
    (II) AT Translated Set 2 keyboard: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
    (II) PS/2 Mouse: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
    (II) UnloadModule: "synaptics"
    (II) Dell WMI hotkeys: Close
    (II) UnloadModule: "evdev"
     ddxSigGiveUp: Closing log
    but as for /var/log/messages:

    Code:
    May 11 04:01:55 root kernel: [  307.772968] kded4[2520] trap divide error ip:7f94c7d6e61f sp:7fffd27fbb80 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f94c7b20000+2c1000]
    May 11 04:02:08 root kernel: [  320.138459] kcminit_startup[2525] trap divide error ip:7f71a5abc61f sp:7fff450787a0 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f71a586e000+2c1000]
    May 11 04:02:21 root kernel: [  333.138429] ksmserver[2530] trap divide error ip:7f51a460561f sp:7fff13018d90 error:0 in libkdecore.so.5.5.0[7f51a43b7000+2c1000]

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    YEEAHH... i have problem like you

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO ashio83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    I have the exact same error on my KDE 64, the only difference being mine isnt on a VM, mine is on my Samsung R520 Laptop. Im stumped....

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    356

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    same here on a vmware workstation, even with vmware-tools installed.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Can you try this:

    kwriteconfig --file kwinrc --group Compositing --key Enabled --type bool false

    Found on the KDE forums: http://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f...176932#p176932

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO ashio83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    No joy mate, the error remains, thanks for the input though. Appreciated.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO Virulent87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Same here.
    Try with DVD, usb, WMv install. all 3 same issue

  9. #9
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Mother View Post
    Can you try this:

    kwriteconfig --file kwinrc --group Compositing --key Enabled --type bool false

    Found on the KDE forums: http://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f...176932#p176932
    Tried this. no succes
    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(")

    This is bunny.
    Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: BT5 KDE 64bit - startx problem

    I've got the same problem on my Dell Studio XPS

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 05:03 AM
  2. startx Problem
    By FurryTurtle in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 06:32 PM
  3. Startx problem. Sudo startx works
    By chris_heyward in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  4. startx problem
    By WuQ_pl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 04:54 PM
  5. Startx problem
    By digiuk in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 01:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •