Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: AMD Radeon HD6470M

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default AMD Radeon HD6470M

    Hey,

    It looks like there maybe an issue with AMD Radeon HD6470M chipset, as soon as xorg loads at boot, screen goes completely black, unable to kill xorg using backspace key.. it could be refresh rates...

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    hi,

    have you tried to boot with other drivers?

    on Bootscreen Press E and remove the ,,vga=123" replace it with radeon or vesa press CTRL + X when your done.
    the radeon Drivers worked for me (HD6310).

    bg

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Eastern Island
    Posts
    96

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    try 'Backtrack Stealth' mode

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    could you give me a little bit more detail...
    The button to change the line is Tab not E

    the line goes like this:

    /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper initrd=casper/initrd.gz text splash vga=791--

    thats the line for the BackTrack Text - Default Boot Text Mode

    i have a SONY VAIO C Series thus the Radeo HD 6470M

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    I'm having the same exact problem. I haven't tried editing the boot commands, though. Installing/Reinstalling the drivers didn't work. I'll let you know.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the hell
    Posts
    91

    Default 回覆: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    @brainbox and @psylence,

    Hope this may help.

    Samiux

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    Here's another super sweet thread on the issue: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...nstall-893973/

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    All:

    Problem (somewhat) solved!

    Here's what I did:

    #vi /etc/default/grub

    Edit GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT to say:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset i915.modeset=1 radeon.modeset=0"

    Save & exit vi

    #update-grub
    #fix-splash

    Install this: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...eon_linux.aspx

    #fix-splash
    #reboot

    I say "(somewhat)" solved because the Catalyst Control Center still won't recognize my video card (prolly 'cause it's disabled in the boot code), but the resolution is now fixed at 1600x900. So, I'll take it!

    Thanks for all the help.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    I came up with this method that seems to work for me (radeon HD6310M) it will prolly work on the HD6470M aswell .


    bOOT UP USING FLASHDRIVE OR LIVE CD

    ON THE BOOT SCREEN PRESS THE "TAB" KEY ON THE "TEXT MODE" line

    THEN CHANGE THE LINE:/casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper initrd=casper/initrd.gz text splash vga=791--

    TO: /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper initrd=casper/initrd.gz text splash nomodeset vga=791 radeon.modeset=0

    PRESS ENTER

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    WHEN U REACH root@bt

    TYPE: vim /etc/default/grub

    SCROLL DOWN TO THE LINE: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset vga=791"

    PRESS THE "I" KEY

    CHANGE : GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset vga=791" TO: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset vga=791 radeon.modeset=0"

    HIT "ESC" KEY

    HOLD DOWN THE " SHIFT" KEY AND PRESS ":" KEY

    THEN PRESS x KEY AND ENTER..........IT NOW SHOULD WRITE

    TYPE: update-grub PRESS "ENTER"

    (ignore the error after "update-grub" if u boot up off a live disk)

    Type: startx

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: AMD Radeon HD6470M

    SL4x0R:

    Thanks, yo. That's actually the exact solution that worked for me as well.

    However, this essentially limits BackTrack to using the lower-quality integrated chip rather than the Radeon. Do you think there's any chance we could swap the options to enable the ATI card and disable the integrated one instead?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Msi Radeon R6870
    By Astrobot in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 04:40 AM
  2. ATI Radeon 3200 Compiz
    By Isohump in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 05:32 PM
  3. Help, Ati radeon hd 4800
    By iena37 in forum Supporto Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 01:45 PM
  4. Radeon HD 3470
    By WeNZeeR in forum OLD BT4beta Working Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 07:14 AM
  5. Radeon HD 2400 Pro and startX
    By archit in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 01:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •