Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Determining Signal Strength

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default Determining Signal Strength

    So I've been working on various things to crack my WEP key. So far, things have been going quite well. Sorta.

    One thing that I noticed is that I'm not getting anywhere NEAR the amount of IVs that I need.

    In the span of 4hours, I had accumulated less than 1000. This is ridiculously slow.

    I've searched the forum here, and I think I've determined the problem. Although I have no idea if it is or not.

    I think it's the signal strength. 'Think' being the key word. I have no way to tell for sure.

    At least right now.

    So my question is, using the command line tools that are used to crack a WEP key, how can I determine what the signal strength is?

  2. #2
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Airodump will report signal strength.

    Netstumbler (Windows) will report signal strength using a supported card.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    I took a look at Airodump tho... And I think I know what you're talking about.

    And therein lies my confusion. Right now, it's reporting it '-1'. No matter of where I move, this number doesn't change at all... Is there maybe something else that'll report the strength?

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spyder_Snyper View Post
    I took a look at Airodump tho... And I think I know what you're talking about.

    And therein lies my confusion. Right now, it's reporting it '-1'. No matter of where I move, this number doesn't change at all... Is there maybe something else that'll report the strength?
    I don't know what cards are properly supported in airodump, but not all cards will report signal strength properly. -1 may be an instance of that.

    How far are you from the AP?
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    kismet do it ...

    iwconfig too (just the lnk strenght)
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theprez98 View Post
    I don't know what cards are properly supported in airodump, but not all cards will report signal strength properly. -1 may be an instance of that.

    How far are you from the AP?
    Anywhere from about 75ish feet to within 5...

    And as far as the support goes, I suppose so. But everything else (including the deauth attacks) works fine. But I will try it with a different card...

  7. #7
    Enigma101
    Guest

    Unhappy Re:Signal Strength

    Britain is in the grip of a Wi-Fi revolution with offices, homes and classrooms going wireless - but there is concern the technology could carry health risks.
    If you do a search on google look up Panorama and visit BBC NEWS | Programmes | Panorama

    For anyone who hasnt seen this Video I would go look before playing with Signal Strength.

    Sorry I could provide you guys with a Direct hyperlink but the board wont let me as I havent made 15 post apparently....

    Happy Surfing..

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spyder_Snyper View Post

    In the span of 4hours, I had accumulated less than 1000. This is ridiculously slow.
    i had the same problem until i locked on to the channel and band of the router in airodump-ng

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doggy View Post
    i had the same problem until i locked on to the channel and band of the router in airodump-ng

    Yeah, I locked it to the right channel... One of the first things I checked...

  10. #10
    Junior Member imported_seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    97

    Default

    if it is going slow, have you been trying replay attacks?

    kismet also tells you signal strength.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •