Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using server (on local boxes) over the web

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    69

    Post Using server (on local boxes) over the web

    Here is what I was thinking.
    Why not host a local server on your BT4 R2 machine, (ie, SET, or just start the httpd service)
    and then send the victim the IP address of the machine, with the exploit?

    After having tried this in several networks, I realized that I can't reach my web servers (hosted locally) outside of my network. Is this true? can one not reach locally hosted web servers on other parts of the internet? If so, how can I get around this?

    I did also follow the tutorial for using metasploit over the web. I know how to do that. My question is accessing locally hosted web servers over the internet.
    Thanks in advance.

    SLOVED
    for any with this question check out...
    http://www.boutell.com/newfaq/creating/hostmyown.html
    Last edited by Nazagul; 01-10-2011 at 02:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Using server (on local boxes) over the web

    I may be wrong but my 2 cents....Your ISP normally blocks your port 80 to prevent you from hosting websites you might have to use another port like say 8080.... and if you are behind a router you must forward to port to the server's ip.

  3. #3
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Using server (on local boxes) over the web

    I think somebody needs to google "Network Address Translation"

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Using server (on local boxes) over the web

    This is standard networking stuff. Assuming your local network is behind a router that is doing NAT translation (which will be the case for most home networks), you need to do port forwarding and also consider any restrictions your ISP may have on allowing incoming ports, as mentioned above.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: Using server (on local boxes) over the web

    thanks guys, I figured as much.
    I just need to forward the port on my router, to the server, and go from there.
    Sorry it was late.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Using server (on local boxes) over the web

    hello

    i did portwoding in router and when i check in canuseeme its show port open but when i use in bt 4 its show me connection refused by the host my xp local ip 192.168.1.2 and bt-4 192.168.1.22 when i use xp i put xp ip in router to portforword and bt-4 i used bt-4 ip but its not forword my port in bt-4 after that i hear about iptables and i used one script to allow all but its start with iptables -F i read it in Archangel Amael blog after it i disable ufw and restart bt-4 but its not work i used adsl so any one tell me where prob in steps thx in advance

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 66
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 04:17 PM
  2. Is there any vulnerabilities in my local server??
    By jamilkassis in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 04:30 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 10:48 PM
  4. for newbie. how can I launch local server into Wide network?
    By vsotolkanachinaietsa in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 10:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •