Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: installing modules vs installing in general.

  1. #1
    Junior Member imported_seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    97

    Default installing modules vs installing in general.

    Im a little confused and spoiled from using ubuntu. I usually install from source or use apt-get.
    What is the difference from installing in that manner and installing the module to get programs to work?
    From my understanding, modules are like drivers? The kernel needs them to communicate with the software? (except drivers are for hardware)

    If someone can please clarify this and give me an example and/or a website where i can learn how to install programs( the whole shibang...) like do i need to install the program, then the module?

    Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    well it depends of your type of installation

    CASE 1 LIVE CD OU LIVE USB

    modules are addons compressed to lzm format, they are dynamically loaded at boot time when placed in the correct dir.

    you can also use in livemode each of them

    you can't make permanent changes to the filesystem, so each installation you could make will be obsolete at next reboot, because filesystem is itself modules expanded at boot time

    so here usage of modules is necessary....


    CASE 2 REAL INSTALL

    you can't use modules in livemode

    you need to extract them to a temp dir and to have a look inside this dir
    you will see either directorys like /usr /bin ... just copy paste .....

    if you want to use some app like apt-get just go in shell
    slapt-get --update
    slapt-get --list
    slapt-get --install packageyouhaveselected

    now unlike in livecd your changes to filesystem will be permanent
    so here you use install procedures and not modules(or you unpack them and copy paste contents)

    hope helps
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  3. #3
    Junior Member imported_seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    97

    Default

    that is perfect thank you!

    Is there a way to add more repositories? And what repositories should i look for since this uses slax6?

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    there is many gui for slapt-get just search in sourceforge projects...

    i use gslapt.....
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    So I just want to clarify something about modules...

    could I use it to, for example, get Apache on the LiveCD?

  6. #6
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    oh yes with no pb, i have it...

    http://www.slax.org/modules.php?action=download&id=2130
    download this but it's mo module so you need to
    mo2lzm module.mo module.lzm before using it

    you will need to add the php5 module too
    http://www.slax.org/modules.php?action=download&id=2269
    and maybe to param your apache for php

    hope helps
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    61

    Default

    well THAT'S handy...

    do you know if some 'start menu' items will be created for programs that are set up as modules? I know, I'm a GUI guy... It's SO much easier to keep things organized.

    PLUS, it's prettier...lol...

  8. #8
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    if they aren't you just can create easyly them in the structure of module
    ...an rebuild module
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  9. #9
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spyder_Snyper View Post
    well THAT'S handy...

    do you know if some 'start menu' items will be created for programs that are set up as modules? I know, I'm a GUI guy... It's SO much easier to keep things organized.

    PLUS, it's prettier...lol...
    I believe you will have to edit the start menu manually. Although it shouldn't be too difficult.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  10. #10
    Junior Member imported_seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Can i download packages for slackware 11 and install them since slax is based off of slackware?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •