Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: VMWARE network need help

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default VMWARE network need help

    I´ve installed backtrack and winxp and i am trying to use some exploits i saw on videos but they can´t work.
    I can ping from winxp to backtrack but backtrack cant ping to winxp : \
    when i use nmap it says that ports are filtered,dont know what that mean
    and...
    yes
    i ´ve done ifup eth0 xD

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: VMWARE network need help

    Is windows firewall on?

    Also try using different network adapters for each OS.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: VMWARE network need help

    What sickness says is correct by default the Windows firewall blocks incoming icmp packets. That goes back to the old days of the "ping of death". If you want to make your life easier when practicing sploiting, visit hdmoore's metaspoit blog for tips on making xp more vulnerable. Also you should start a couple services in your xp install otherwise their won't be any ports opening up to sport. Such as opening telnet and setting a password to crack. When scanning a Windows box with nmap always use the -PN so it doesn't use ping packets first to check if the IP is a live host. Above all have fun.
    Last edited by gunrunr; 04-07-2011 at 02:27 PM.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: VMWARE network need help

    On your WinXp box, configure a network. The windows will ask you for enable file/print share. Say yes.
    Or just go to Control Painel>Firewall>And check the file/print share option.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: VMWARE network need help

    Turned off firewall and works just fine.
    Thank you guys !

Similar Threads

  1. Vmware Network / Wireless
    By eterzella in forum Suporte Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 10:10 PM
  2. BT4 on VMWare, not network
    By flyingsky in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 11:20 PM
  3. Setting up network on local network with bt3 over VMware
    By JibberingJ in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-12-2008, 11:21 PM
  4. Problem with network in VMware
    By snake eyes in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 08:27 PM
  5. Vmware + BT = No Network
    By txt3rob in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2007, 10:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •