Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    I just bought a Alfa 1000mW 1W 802.11b/g wifi adapter I'd like to get most use out of it.

    It's suppose to run at 1000mW but when I first installed the software it had two choices
    one for 1 mW & another one for the european 100mW setting.

    I also heard that you need two usb cables for that power or it will blow your usb ports
    mine only came with one usb cable.

    How can I find out if it's running at 1000mW and if not how can I tweak it to get
    the full potential out of this card i'm running xp pro.

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    Hi,
    You can do it by setting you regulatory file to another region (which I won't tell you since it's easy to find both on google and those forums).

    You do not have to install anything on Backtrack, driver rtl8187 does a great job (assuming AWUS036H).

    I didn't hear anything about two cables and I got it working to 1W with only one. From memory, USB can handle 1W without any problem.

    To find out if your card is working at max capacities, check its txpower

    I hope this points you in the right direction for searches!
    Last edited by comaX; 03-24-2011 at 04:28 PM.
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    Quote Originally Posted by highbids View Post
    How can I find out if it's running at 1000mW and if not how can I tweak it to get
    the full potential out of this card i'm running xp pro.
    this is a forum for backtrack not windows xp

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    What is the driver ath9k? I just plugged my alfa in and it's using driver rtl8187? I'm really confused and I can't get packet injection working probably because of the driver. Any ideas?


    Update: Found out that I needed to use another patched driver. I'm currently using r8187 patched and have had a lot of success cracking wep. I've also just captured a wpa handshake and currently working on it with a dictionary list...Gonna be a while it looks like.

    This link helped me the most...just read... http://forum.aircrack-ng.org/index.php?topic=5755.0
    Last edited by zeroth; 03-24-2011 at 01:12 PM. Reason: Fixed it

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO Kikuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Procie
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    Quote Originally Posted by zeroth View Post
    What is the driver ath9k? I just plugged my alfa in and it's using driver rtl8187? I'm really confused and I can't get packet injection working probably because of the driver. Any ideas?
    did you try madwifi yet?

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    Yup, my mistake about ath9k, I must have been thinking about my atheros.
    Reread it now that it is edite
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: How Can I Tweak My Alfa 1000mW WIFI Card

    Quote Originally Posted by Kikuk View Post
    did you try madwifi yet?
    Working ok with r8187 driver. I'll look at madwifi and see..Anyone got any personal recommendations on the best all round driver. This r8187 seems really solid so far. But I'm new to the whole process. I'm lucky I didn't toast the os doing the driver patching..maybe I should not be in root til I have more experience....he he.

Similar Threads

  1. Alfa AWUS036H 1000mW 1W 802.11b/g and wpa handshake?
    By brawngp1 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 10:23 PM
  2. Alfa AWUS036H 1000mW Packet Loss
    By Huskehn in forum Experts Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 12:01 AM
  3. Alfa AWUS036H 1000mW FCC ID?
    By eeepclover in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 04:08 PM
  4. Alfa 500mw or 1000mw
    By ammoun in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 12:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •