Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Use BT2 as main OS?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Use BT2 as main OS?

    Hi,

    I was finally able to get BT2 installed as a dual boot on my laptop, and it's been awfully fun, however, I'd like to use the OS to also do 'real work' . I've been trying to install some packages I'd like to use such as Open Office (the slackware version) but I can't get anything to install. I've tried using installpkg and it seems to start working but as soon as it says (paraphrasing) 'installing package' it just drops to the shell command line and nothing else happens. I've tried manually untar-ing the file and installing, but again it will act like it's doing something and then just stop.

    Am I missing something simple?? I'm a 'mostly noob', I've played around with other distros, and I'm fairly comfortable with using the console...

    Any help appreciated!!

  2. #2
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by htrboy View Post
    Hi,

    I was finally able to get BT2 installed as a dual boot on my laptop, and it's been awfully fun, however, I'd like to use the OS to also do 'real work' . I've been trying to install some packages I'd like to use such as Open Office (the slackware version) but I can't get anything to install. I've tried using installpkg and it seems to start working but as soon as it says (paraphrasing) 'installing package' it just drops to the shell command line and nothing else happens. I've tried manually untar-ing the file and installing, but again it will act like it's doing something and then just stop.

    Am I missing something simple?? I'm a 'mostly noob', I've played around with other distros, and I'm fairly comfortable with using the console...

    Any help appreciated!!
    Yes, this has been addressed in a previous post. Use search function. Also, this wasn't designed to be a regular stand alone OS for writing up docs, doing homework, etc. Its a pen testing suite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    not designed for this usage but if u want here is a procedure for creating modules

    find sources
    untar sources in a dir
    cd to this dir
    configure
    make
    checkinstall
    a package .tgz will be created need to convert to lzmformat
    tgz2lzm name.tgz name.lzm

    after i you want it loaded each time you start the live distrib copy it rootofusbinstall/bt/modules/

    or easier but weirder i think download a slax module (http://slax.org/modules), convert it with mo2lzm module.mo module.lzm

    hope helps
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks, I'll give it a shot. I understand that BT2 is meant to do one thing really well - just thought it'd be cool to use it for other stuff.

    Along those lines, I would like to be able to do wireless packet analysis and I've been trying to install wireshark and have been having similar issues. Haven't searched this forum yet to see if there is a solution - As soon as I post this I'll start looking...

  5. #5
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    Wireshark is included in BT2 so there is no need to install it.

  6. #6
    Junior Member imported_seven's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    97

    Default

    it is under privilege escalation.


    just wondering though...what is the difference between wireshark and wireshark wifi?

  7. #7
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    quote directly from Tools page of wiki
    "Wireshark Wifi - Wireshark with Wifi Injection Patch allows the user to select a packet opened with wireshark and edit it and reinject throught LORCON injection library."
    Link

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Crap! Should've realized it was already in there!! Thanks all.

  9. #9
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PrairieFire View Post
    quote directly from Tools page of wiki
    "Wireshark Wifi - Wireshark with Wifi Injection Patch allows the user to select a packet opened with wireshark and edit it and reinject throught LORCON injection library."
    Link
    So nice when people actually read the documentation...
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •