Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Wrong resolution

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Wrong resolution

    Hi everybody

    I installed Backtrack 4 R2 on my laptop yesterday and have since then been trying to make it use the right resolution (1366x768)

    What i have tried:
    I have tried to use kde-guidance-kde3 package (found in synaptic package manager) to change the resolution, without any luck
    At first, a resolution of '1360x768' was shown in the monitor-hotkey, but when i tried to apply it, the screen just went black.
    I tried to configure the xorg.conf manually by adding the 1366x768 resolution under "Display" parameters (both 8, 16, 24 and 32 bit) but it just uses the old resolutions. I can't choose it myself neither. I tried to logout and in again and reboot.

    I should mention that at first i only could use 800x600. I then tried to use another gfx driver and then it woldn't start x afterwards. I then tried 'fixvesa' and all of a sudden it could use 1024x768 just fine - but still not 1366x768.

    My laptop is an Samsung R530 with an Nvidia GeForce 310m gfx.

    If needed, more info on the laptop itself can be found here:
    http://www.samsung.com/hk_en/consume...=specification

    Can anyone help me out here? How can i make it run 1366x768?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Wrong resolution

    I had a similar issue with intel drivers and eventually found a way to force it to 1368x768 (by breaking my xorg.conf file) but I am not sure about how to do it with nvidia drivers

    Maybe there is a solution in this thread that you could try. alot of attempts were made and maybe something similar will work for you.
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...rack-4-r2.html

    have you tried editing the xorg.conf file after you did fix-vesa?
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Wrong resolution

    Yea I have. At first (before fixvesa) xorg.conf only consisted of the whole guidance part in the top and then maybe 10-15 lines of parameters. After fixvesa the file was ALOT bigger, maybe 200-250 lines if not more.

    That link you posted is actually very interesting. As the poster from that thread, I also run both Ubuntu and BT, and Ubuntu has no problem running 1366x768.
    I'll try the solutions they propose and get back with an answer. Thanks so far

    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    I had a similar issue with intel drivers and eventually found a way to force it to 1368x768 (by breaking my xorg.conf file) but I am not sure about how to do it with nvidia drivers

    Maybe there is a solution in this thread that you could try. alot of attempts were made and maybe something similar will work for you.
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...rack-4-r2.html

    have you tried editing the xorg.conf file after you did fix-vesa?

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    13

    Red face Re: Wrong resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by lleroy View Post
    Hi everybody

    I installed Backtrack 4 R2 on my laptop yesterday and have since then been trying to make it use the right resolution (1366x768)

    What i have tried:
    I have tried to use kde-guidance-kde3 package (found in synaptic package manager) to change the resolution, without any luck
    At first, a resolution of '1360x768' was shown in the monitor-hotkey, but when i tried to apply it, the screen just went black.
    I tried to configure the xorg.conf manually by adding the 1366x768 resolution under "Display" parameters (both 8, 16, 24 and 32 bit) but it just uses the old resolutions. I can't choose it myself neither. I tried to logout and in again and reboot.

    I should mention that at first i only could use 800x600. I then tried to use another gfx driver and then it woldn't start x afterwards. I then tried 'fixvesa' and all of a sudden it could use 1024x768 just fine - but still not 1366x768.

    My laptop is an Samsung R530 with an Nvidia GeForce 310m gfx.

    If needed, more info on the laptop itself can be found here:
    http://www.samsung.com/hk_en/consume...=specification

    Can anyone help me out here? How can i make it run 1366x768?
    On my Virtualise Backtrack 4.0 r2 (hosted by windows 7), I succeed in making the 1366x768.

    I do some editing thing in the xorg.conf :
    Section Screen
    .
    .
    .
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1366x768" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    It works perfectly...
    But on my dual backtrack (I've a dual boot backtrack 4.0 r2 / win 7 64 bits), it doesn't work...

Similar Threads

  1. Resolution
    By Snoopy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 08:04 AM
  2. How to save resolution?
    By garmada in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 11:11 PM
  3. Resolution,again
    By Okasu in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 03:33 AM
  4. Big resolution with bt4
    By pop.boy in forum OLD Latest Public Release - BackTrack4 Beta
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 08:21 PM
  5. EEEPC 900 Resolution fix
    By dknova in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-11-2008, 04:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •