Thread: How To: Securely (and automatically) sanitize your trash contents and file names

Just burned his ISO

Default How To: Securely (and automatically) sanitize your trash contents and file names

This is my first time posting to the BT forums, but I'm a big fan of BT, so I figured I'd make my first post a contribution (albeit a small one); rather than a question.

Personally, I liberally send many files to the Trash (highlighting a file and then pressing just "delete") to keep my desktop environment organized, but the files on hand incase I deleted something important. After a while, I want to get ride of all those files securely. So, here is what I use for securely erasing my trash.

To get situated, open a terminal and cd to your root directory:
    Code:
    cd~
    (Optional)
    STEP 1: Upgrade to the latest version of scrub.

First, we'll upgrade to the latest version of scrub -- the program we'll be using to sanitize the contents of our files. This program is already included in BT, but this will get us the latest version.
    Code:
    wget http://diskscrub.googlecode.com/files/scrub-2.4.tar.bz2
    Verify checksum -- always a good measure.
    Code:
    sha1sum scrub-2.4.tar.bz2
    Output:
    Code:
    1065cde68549cd8b013f2b82bc5bb24922010da7  scrub-2.4.tar.bz2
    Install it. Since BT has scrub already installed in the default directory, there is no custom configuration necessary.
    Code:
    tar -vxjf scrub-2.4.tar.bz2
    cd scrub-2.4
    ./configure
    make
    make install
    Check your version to make sure it installed correctly:
    Code:
    scrub -v
    Output:
    Code:
    scrub version 2.4
    A little cleanup:
    Code:
    cd ~
    rm -rf ./scrub-2.4
    rm scrub-2.4.tar.bz2
    NOTE: Obviously the version output and checksum will change depending on the version of scrub that is currently available.

STEP 2: Create a script which will perform the procedure
    Code:
    touch secure_trash
    kate secure_trash