Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

    hi...im doing something wrong...if i boot direct from iso disk everything works fine and if i go direct to WICD NETWORK MANAGER i can see all the wireless connections and can go on internet,,also
    if i boot from usb stick everything fine , i can go direct to WICD NETWORK MANAGER and see all wireless connections and go on internet,,,,but if i use vmware workstation and boot backtrack now when i go to WICD NETWORK MANAGER it says wired connection and no wireless connections available ,,,,,something is changing when i use the vmware workstation to boot ...do you know what it is...thanks for any help....im using bt4 r2 ...alfa usb antenna...thanks

    yes the alfa is connected as guest ......thanks

    the WICD MANAGER says wired network and shows ip address and no wireless networks

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

    Make sure to connect the Alfa USB device in the VM settings to the VM guest.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

    HI...thanks for reply....yes i have it connected....but WICD NETWORK MANAGER says wired network...gives an ip address and says no wireless networks

    Edit:

    yes ive tried everything,,,even reloaded vmware,,,but still the manager says wired network....no wireless available,the alpa usb shows in vm tools and is connected.. ,yet when i boot from usb or a disc wireless networks all show up......any ideas....thanks
    Last edited by sickness; 03-04-2011 at 02:15 PM. Reason: Merged.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

    have you set the preferences in wicd to work with your wifi interface?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    173

    Default Re: Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

    bring down the eth0 adapter
    and make sure your wlan0 is up and in the prefs for wifi in wicd

    I usually do this:
    #ifconfig eth0 down
    #ifconfig wlan0 up
    #start-network
    open wicd and if the wired net is connected just
    #ifconfig eth0 down again
    make sure its only wlan0 and lo up in ifconfig too

    Regards Dee

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Probably easy anwser but in stuck....thanks

    I have had the same issues. I stopped using VMware eventhough its a pretty cool program. I eventually decided to stop playing around with VMware and boot straight into BT4. I do not have issues when I boot into it, I only have issues when using VMware. Also, I think you need 2 wifi's with VMware, one connected to your host machine, and one in the virtual machine. Then you may have to change your VMware settings, for example, you have NAT setting, Bridged setting etc.

Similar Threads

  1. Partitioner stuck
    By Tundergun in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 03:08 AM
  2. Been a while - using tut, stuck at injection
    By sandaili in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 09:10 AM
  3. Stuck on WPA crack
    By ruddyrum in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2009, 03:57 PM
  4. Stuck on GRUB
    By GNic24 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2009, 07:47 AM
  5. BT3 Stuck in Flux
    By JohnnyBravo in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 11:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •