Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: BackTrack 4 r2 / windows xp/ installed on a internal hd

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO misspacman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy BackTrack 4 r2 / windows xp/ installed on a internal hd

    Hi,
    I have bt4 installed on one of my three internals hd's. the disk is bt4 only.
    I also have a made a live dvd.

    The thing is.... I can only boot bt from cd (external cd/dvd w.usb)since in bios, after installing bt, the drive cant be seen.
    I dont have an internal cd/dvd player
    My problem is that the wordlist needed are to big for the HD so I wrote them to a dvd. When I am in BT I cant unmount the live dvd it is not by HAL it says???
    I have tried to give the path to the other HD (windows) in which I have the wordlists. Doesn't exist it says.

    Questions:
    1.How do I make BIOS see the hard drive with BT4?
    SO I dont have to use my external dvdplayer

    2. In windows..my usb wifi antenna (Airlive WL1600) sees more connections than in BT4
    What am I missing?
    3.What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    136

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 r2 / windows xp/ installed on a internal hd

    Just a few things..

    1.How do I make BIOS see the hard drive with BT4?
    SO I dont have to use my external dvdplayer
    Are there any updates you can do to your bios? Maybe it's the jumper setting on the hard drive, if it has the option, does it boot with a different OS on it?

    2. In windows..my usb wifi antenna (Airlive WL1600) sees more connections than in BT4
    What am I missing?
    Maybe the driver isn't as good as the Windows version, or perhaps there is a way to increase the TX power?

    3.What am I doing wrong?
    can't really answer that, just eliminate all possibilties from each piece of hardware/software and you should get there!

  3. #3
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 r2 / windows xp/ installed on a internal hd

    1. This is not a BT related question. We do not know the brand of your mainboard, your setup or anything else (you won't tell us either)
    2. As mentioned before might be some different reasons
    3. Also not able to answer that. There are so many possibilities.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2010, 05:57 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 09:04 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 12:16 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 01:57 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-24-2008, 07:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •