Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unable to discover wireless networks

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Unable to discover wireless networks

    Hey

    I'm running BT4 r2 on Virtualbox on a Windows 7 x64 host. I have managed to establish an internet connection under eth0 using a bridged connection, however I have read that to use features such as aircrack I need a connection under wlan0.
    My adapter is a USB TP-Link TL-WN727N which I believe uses the RaLink RT3070 chipset. I downloaded the drivers from here http://www.ralinktech.com/support.php?s=2 and tried to install using this method http://ubunturt2870.pbworks.com/w/pa...8776/FrontPage

    The USB is mounted in VirtualBox so the Guest has control but the Host does not (I think this is right? Host connection drops when I start BT) However I am still unable to find wireless networks from BT.
    Any tips or areas I should look at?
    This is my first time on a Linux system so please bear with me, am happy to post more info if needed

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Between here and there
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    Did you try booting up live-dvd? Let us know if it works that way.
    Last edited by BushRat; 02-23-2011 at 01:24 AM. Reason: I am not a spelling oriented person..

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    Just tried, seemed like I was able to set up wlan0 but scanning for networks just showed me 'no scan results'

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO jmeXer0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    8

    Talking Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    have you tried just booting a live cd or from usb rather than through VM? I used VMware briefly but booting it is much more fun XD

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    No I havent tried cd or usb due mostly to a lack of cd's/usbs free to do this lol, but since I want to use it mostly in VirtualBox would a cd boot help?

    If it helps here are the results I get from ifconfig and iwconfig:



    Last edited by sickness; 02-23-2011 at 06:57 PM. Reason: Merged posts.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO oliverkrystal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ravaging the Refridgerator
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    I would do a CD boot, or use UnetBootin and a USB flash drive. If you have to configure your drivers for the adaptor, you will want a persistent USB boot disk.

    Doing a direct boot removes any fuzziness that VMWare is adding to the connection to your device.

    Also, how are you checking for devices? For WICD, you need to start networking (I believe) and kismet, the adapter needs to be in monitor mode.

    Also, please post the output of lsusb so we can confirm what chipset your adpator is using.
    ------
    * Just trying to help as well as I can with what little I know. If I say something wrong, please tell me!
    * Made a thread and solved a problem? Make sure to say so.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    Ok I have managed to get wlan0 to the point where I can scan for networks and see my network and those around me, but when I open wicd and type my password I get 'Could not contact wireless access point'

    result from lsusb


  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO archaingels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    I got the same error. When I look-up for surrounding Wi-fi like my house wifi I cannot find anything. Sometimes can be found but after I key-in my passkey the WICD just hang.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO oliverkrystal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ravaging the Refridgerator
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Unable to discover wireless networks

    Have either of you tried a direct boot? I can't help any further. I know that I can use mine in monitor mode, and I *think* my 3030 can do injection. But I'm also directly booting and not using virtual box.
    ------
    * Just trying to help as well as I can with what little I know. If I say something wrong, please tell me!
    * Made a thread and solved a problem? Make sure to say so.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to scan for networks
    By mikemonk in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 06:43 PM
  2. Discover the range of ip
    By davirodrigues in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 02:46 PM
  3. discover proxy information
    By DontLookDown in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 09:08 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2008, 10:35 PM
  5. Discover a hidden ssid
    By Sir_Smoke in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-06-2007, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •