Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: cant boot BT2 acer aspire 3100

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default cant boot BT2 acer aspire 3100

    Hi...

    i've borrowed a notebook with an Atheros wireless card... because my notebook with ipw3945abg cant inject! =(

    but this notebook doesn't boot with BT2 live cd.... it gets stuck in this error:

    bla bla bla ..... hda_codec: invalid dep_range......
    what could it be?

    thanks in advance...

  2. #2
    Senior Member PrairieFire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    705

    Default

    if you can get to prompt try
    Code:
    bt debug

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i did it

    boot: bt debug

    it leaves me in #

    what do i do now?

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    Aspire 3102WLMi

    • Hangs on bootup, loading ALSA drivers "ALSA sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c: 204: hda_codec: invalid dep_range_vol 0:7fff"

    from bt wiki
    ....
    surely the same for ur 3100....now i don't have any solution but with pb identified maybe easier to ask bt forum if there is a way to boot with out alsa or without sound and to remove alsa sound driver from autoload, there others sound sys which may make no pb with ur snd card.... i use alsa on an hp no pb with bt hard drive install

    hope helps
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    thank you for your reply...
    i'm not an english native speaker... but lets see if i got your point...

    i've read many posts where people say i should wait 5-8 minutes and it'll boot.. i'm trying it right now...

    did you recommend me to install bt2 in my hard drive instead of using live cd?
    or did i misunderstand?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    it did it...
    after 5 minutes it boot...
    i ran startx

    but my wireless card is not detected!!!
    =(

    atheros 5005g
    how do i make it work?

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I'm on an acer aspire 5100, it autodetects my card, and I'm running the same chipset. Try iwconfig -a and post what it says.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Its true that it works normally after you wait about 2-3 minutes.
    just a normal boot, no extra options. At least thats the way with my A5100.
    It has the same error, over and over.

    I also can not get the Atheros card to monitor.
    I got a 200mW PCMCIA card instead.
    It has a much bigger range and power as well.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default

    EDIT: Using the 'nohotplug' just caused more problems for me. I couldn't login to BT2 after typing it in. Plus, now I still can't get BT2 to detect my card.

    Try to use the 'bt nohotplug' in the booting screen.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •