Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    Hey guys, i am very sorry about asking you this.

    I have searched for days trying to get BT4 working and have come along way from not knowing what Ubuntu was to where i am now..

    My Problem is, as many others that i cant seem to get my Wlan0 to work.
    My card is a Intel Ultimate-N 6300
    I am running BT4 Final as a full installation on a HDD

    I am getting these outputs from the codes i found around forums, Google and BT Wiki.

    Code:
    root@bt:~# /etc/init.d/networking start
    Configuring network interfaces...Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:90:f5:9f:57:9b
    Sending on   LPF/eth0/00:90:f5:9f:57:9b
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    DHCPOFFER of 192.168.1.103 from 192.168.1.1
    DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.1.103 on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPACK of 192.168.1.103 from 192.168.1.1
    bound to 192.168.1.103 -- renewal in 36628 seconds.
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface eth1 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface eth2 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface ath0 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[eth0]: waiting for interface wlan0 before doing NFS mounts
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:24:d7:0e:5f:58
    Sending on   LPF/wlan0/00:24:d7:0e:5f:58
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    receive_packet failed on wlan0: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 18
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    send_packet: Network is down
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    send_packet: Network is down
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface eth1 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface eth2 before doing NFS mounts
    if-up.d/mountnfs[wlan0]: waiting for interface ath0 before doing NFS mounts
    done.
    Code:
    root@bt:~# lsmod
    Module                  Size  Used by
    ipv6                  239348  22
    sbs                    10940  0
    video                  18024  0
    output                  2388  1 video
    sbshc                   4500  1 sbs
    acpi_cpufreq            7808  0
    cpufreq_ondemand        7080  8
    cpufreq_performance     1300  0
    cpufreq_conservative     7048  0
    cpufreq_powersave       1268  0
    cpufreq_stats           4728  0
    freq_table              3476  3 acpi_cpufreq,cpufreq_ondemand,cpufreq_stats
    iptable_filter          2324  0
    ip_tables              10916  1 iptable_filter
    x_tables               13592  1 ip_tables
    parport_pc             24292  0
    lp                      9412  0
    parport                30572  2 parport_pc,lp
    snd_hda_codec_atihdmi     3188  1
    snd_hda_codec_si3054     4436  1
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   194936  1
    snd_seq_dummy           2424  0
    snd_seq_oss            27328  0
    snd_seq_midi            5952  0
    snd_rawmidi            19488  1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_hda_intel          24712  3
    snd_hda_codec          57204  4 snd_hda_codec_atihdmi,snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    snd_seq_midi_event      5972  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
    snd_hwdep               6776  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm_oss            37728  0
    snd_seq                47568  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    arc4                    1588  2
    snd_mixer_oss          14324  1 snd_pcm_oss
    ecb                     2484  2
    sdhci_pci               6900  0
    sdhci                  15864  1 sdhci_pci
    snd_pcm                67704  5 snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
    rtc_cmos               10156  0
    rtc_core               15792  1 rtc_cmos
    fglrx                2427232  71
    mmc_core               46704  1 sdhci
    uvcvideo               58016  0
    snd_seq_device          6048  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    serio_raw               5016  0
    videodev               37056  1 uvcvideo
    v4l1_compat            13336  2 uvcvideo,videodev
    iwlagn                166328  0
    agpgart                29356  1 fglrx
    rtc_lib                 2388  1 rtc_core
    psmouse                41732  0
    iwlcore               161336  1 iwlagn
    rfkill                  9328  2 iwlcore
    led_class               3608  2 sdhci,iwlcore
    lib80211                5176  1 iwlcore
    mac80211              204728  2 iwlagn,iwlcore
    snd_timer              19068  3 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd                    50468  17 snd_hda_codec_si3054,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_seq,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_device,snd_timer
    cfg80211               61268  3 iwlagn,iwlcore,mac80211
    soundcore               5856  1 snd
    snd_page_alloc          7836  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    wmi                     5960  0
    shpchp                 31560  0
    evdev                   9120  9
    sg                     25064  0
    firewire_ohci          22648  0
    firewire_core          40640  1 firewire_ohci
    fuse                   53104  1
    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wmaster0  no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Tx-Power=0 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    Code:
    root@bt:~# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:f5:9f:57:9b
              inet addr:192.168.1.103  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::290:f5ff:fe9f:579b/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:8298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:6687 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:8171446 (8.1 MB)  TX bytes:1213265 (1.2 MB)
              Interrupt:35 Base address:0xc000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:3700 (3.7 KB)  TX bytes:3700 (3.7 KB)

    I did look in to drivers as well, and messed around with the compat wireless drivers.. Don't know if that messed things up even more...

    I would appreciate any help i could get, and have in mind that i am really new at using any thing but windows..

    I think i have the basic covered though..

    Thanks in advance

    Alstrom

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    After doing a little more reading it seem its a a driver conflict..

    Code:
    cfg80211               61268  3 iwlagn,iwlcore,mac80211
    But i am really not sure, and if its the case ill still need a good portion help..

    Thanks

    Alstrom

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    hey boss it seems that your wireless card is indeed working, but tell me a little about the Access Point that you are trying to connect to because this is just as important as having the drivers correct.
    A. is this a home AP or is it something for a pentest?
    B. are any of the security features for the AP enabled? ie mac address filtering, encryption, authentication?
    C. is DHCP turned on and set to auto?
    answer these and we'll get you connected.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    Quote Originally Posted by gunrunr View Post
    hey boss it seems that your wireless card is indeed working, but tell me a little about the Access Point that you are trying to connect to because this is just as important as having the drivers correct.
    A. is this a home AP or is it something for a pentest?
    B. are any of the security features for the AP enabled? ie mac address filtering, encryption, authentication?
    C. is DHCP turned on and set to auto?
    answer these and we'll get you connected.
    I will be connecting to a Home AP for a start.. The problem is that i cant see any AP at all, and i know for a fact that there is over 10 different AP's in the area i can reach..

    Security for AP will be Auth. only, but since i cant even see it in Wicd. the security might be of little or no relevance atm..

    How do i see status of DHCP?

    some more informations.. Don't know if they are of any use to you, but guess ill give you ass much as possible

    I have bolded a line in the to codes underneath.. seem to get that a lot...

    Code:
    root@bt:~# dhcpcd wlan0
    err, wlan0: ioctl SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    And some info using Airmon-ng
    Code:
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0
    
    
    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    
    PID     Name
    11123   dhclient3
    11315   dhclient3
    Process with PID 11315 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Intel 4965/5xxx iwlagn - [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    
                                    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)
    
    root@bt:~#
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Intel 4965/5xxx iwlagn - [phy0]
    mon0            Intel 4965/5xxx iwlagn - [phy0]
    Here is the info from Black list

    Code:
    root@bt:~# cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    # This file lists those modules which we don't want to be loaded by
    # alias expansion, usually so some other driver will be loaded for the
    # device instead.
    
    # evbug is a debug tool that should be loaded explicitly
    blacklist evbug
    blacklist pcspkr
    
    # these drivers are very simple, the HID drivers are usually preferred
    blacklist usbmouse
    blacklist usbkbd
    
    # replaced by e100
    blacklist eepro100
    
    # replaced by tulip
    blacklist de4x5
    
    # causes no end of confusion by creating unexpected network interfaces
    blacklist eth1394
    
    # snd_intel8x0m can interfere with snd_intel8x0, doesn't seem to support much
    # hardware on its own (Ubuntu bug #2011, #6810)
    blacklist snd_intel8x0m
    
    # Conflicts with dvb driver (which is better for handling this device)
    blacklist snd_aw2
    
    # causes failure to suspend on HP compaq nc6000 (Ubuntu: #10306)
    blacklist i2c_i801
    
    # replaced by p54pci
    blacklist prism54
    
    # replaced by b43 and ssb.
    blacklist bcm43xx
    
    # most apps now use garmin usb driver directly (Ubuntu: #114565)
    blacklist garmin_gps
    
    # replaced by asus-laptop (Ubuntu: #184721)
    blacklist asus_acpi
    
    # low-quality, just noise when being used for sound playback, causes
    # hangs at desktop session start (Ubuntu: #246969)
    blacklist snd_pcsp
    blacklist rt73
    blacklist ath_pci
    blacklist r8187
    blacklist r8187
    blacklist ath_pci
    blacklist rt73
    Thank you very much for helping out, cant say how big a headache this is coursing me >(

    Alstrom
    Last edited by Alstrom; 02-16-2011 at 02:31 PM. Reason: Got smarter while waiting ;)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    If it's a driver conflict I would check your blacklist ( /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist ) and see what is being loaded and what isn't.
    Computer security is a temporary condition.

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    ok first of all if you want to connect to a wlan do not start the device in airmon-ng. when you start a device in airmon-ng it changes the devices mode to monitor from the default which is managed. You have to have it in managed in order to connect to an AP. Second of all if you know your ap's mac address you can connect to it directly. This works great when there are 10 guys nearby with "linksys" as their essid. If you wanna find out the mac address physically look under the AP its on a sticker. to find out if dynamic host connection protocol is turned on or off you will probably have to log into the device on another computer and take a look. Who set it up? Its your home ap right?

    when you find out the mac address just use there commands..straight after you type startx and open a terminal.
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...a.html#post267

    a like to my own epic post.. that should get you connected
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    Hey Gunrunr

    I started the airmon-ng up cause i wanted to see if i could find anything there, and i did stop the mon0 afterwards..

    the problem seems to happen when trying to start wlan0 devise in Ifconfig.

    Code:
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    And its not shown under Ifconfig ether.

    Only place i can see the card is Iwconfig

    the rest of the guide fall down on the fact that i can not start the interface at all..


    Breaking news... It seems that i am missing a firmware.. i followed a couple of guides to trouble shot and this is what came up..

    Typing #ifconifg don't show Wlan0 cause its not "up" so i tryed typing #ifconfig -a and there it is nice and shiny Wlan0

    I tryed Ifconfig wlan0 up and got the usual
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    I made a google search on the error and found this tread
    https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=56439

    i tryed the suggestion in post #6 and got the same result

    Code:
    root@bt:~# dmesg -c > /dev/null
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
    SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
    root@bt:~# dmesg -c
    iwlagn 0000:03:00.0: firmware: requesting iwlwifi-6000-2.ucode
    iwlagn 0000:03:00.0: iwlwifi-6000-2.ucode firmware file req failed: -2
    iwlagn 0000:03:00.0: firmware: requesting iwlwifi-6000-1.ucode
    iwlagn 0000:03:00.0: iwlwifi-6000-1.ucode firmware file req failed: -2
    iwlagn 0000:03:00.0: Could not read microcode: -2
    my conclusion so far is that i need the firmware for the 6000 series card to run it..
    I tryed installing the firmware following a couple of different guides and ended up whit a mess..

    I reinstalled BC4 to get a clean copy and did the usual start op with upgrades and updates and is now where i was last time i posted..

    Where do i go from here?

    EDIT2> Have now installed iwlwifi-6000-4.ucode, but the same fails as above shows up and ask for 6000-1 and 6000-2, witch kinda make scene, since i the on i installed is 6000-4... any one have a solution on this Firmware problem?

    Best regards
    Alstrom


    And thank you very much for your time.
    Last edited by Alstrom; 02-17-2011 at 09:06 PM. Reason: Breaking News

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)

    Solved!

    As simple as upgrading from Final to R2.. All needed Firmware for high end Intel Series included..

    Thank you all for looking in to the problem for me..

    This thread can be closed.

    Alstrom

Similar Threads

  1. help installing intel 6300 wlan
    By chali in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 06:55 PM
  2. Intel 6300 wlan problem firmware
    By *YAPP* in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 06:20 AM
  3. Backtrack 4 and the Intel WiFi Link 5100 (Wifi 802.11n)
    By Magic-Micky in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 08:34 PM
  4. Best card for my situation
    By mrhotdoguk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2007, 11:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •