Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: macchanger on startup.

  1. #1
    tristania
    Guest

    Question macchanger on startup.

    Hi,

    is there a way macchanger change automatcly my real mac on startup without typing it everytime?

  2. #2
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    easily with including a script in ./root/kde/autostart
    in script invoke
    macchanger --random eth0(or ur interface)

    see u

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    easily with including a script in ./root/kde/autostart
    in script invoke
    macchanger --random eth0(or ur interface)

    see u
    Sorry for the noob question....but where is this script invoke??I tried opening a konsole window and I tried script invoke macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0 and it said invalid option. And can I make it instead of macchanger --random eth0(or ur interface) make it macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0?? Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xploitz View Post
    Sorry for the noob question....but where is this script invoke??I tried opening a konsole window and I tried script invoke macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0 and it said invalid option. And can I make it instead of macchanger --random eth0(or ur interface) make it macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0?? Thanks for your help.
    Code:
    alias Fake_MAC="macchanger --mac=00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0"
    Now, to invoke that command, all you have to do is open a konsole and type "Fake_MAC" and it should run the command. Perhaps then, you can put the "Fake_MAC" command in the ./root/kde/autostart

    The "Fake_MAC" command of course can be changed to whatever you please. I'm not sure if this will work, so don't quote me on it. It's just my stab in the dark.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Well..i typed this EXACTLY

    alias Fake_MAC="macchanger --mac=00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0"

    and it looks like it accepted it...but when I opened another window and typed Fake_MAC is said...

    -bash: Fake_MAC: command not found

    but when i typed Fake_MAC= it gave me a new command line...also...how do I move that command to the ./root/kde/autostart folder?? I don't see kde listed under root...hmm...mabey I'm not looking in the right place? I'm new to Linux and I love it...but I'm still not all that familiar with locations of stuff yet.

  6. #6
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Is it hidden? I'm not sure if B|T hides folders by default like Ubuntu does. Hit ctrl+H to see if any new folders show up. Also, try FakeMac (no underscore). Just a guess.

  7. #7
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    just want to say you create a text file name xxx.sh in /root/kde/autostart
    in this text file write
    macchanger --random eth0 (or the name of your interface)
    save it
    tht's all i think
    will assign a totaly random mac to your interface at each time kde start
    you can also link the file to desktop after ... this make it both autostart and on demand start

    see u

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eristic View Post
    Is it hidden? I'm not sure if B|T hides folders by default like Ubuntu does. Hit ctrl+H to see if any new folders show up. Also, try FakeMac (no underscore). Just a guess.
    Well, Ctrl+H didnt work...but you got me thinking on the right path Eristic..Im very windows suave and I thought to myself "I wonder if Linux is like Windows?" And yep it was....I opened my Konqueror home folder and went to the view tab and there it was!! SHOW HIDDEN FOLDERS!!! So thanks for helping me learn a little about Linux today.


    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    just want to say you create a text file name xxx.sh in /root/kde/autostart
    in this text file write
    macchanger --random eth0 (or the name of your interface)
    save it
    that's all i think
    will assign a totally random mac to your interface at each time kde start
    you can also link the file to desktop after ... this make it both autostart and on demand start

    see u

    Ok..I followed what you said EXACTLY...but there is some confusion...please bare with me...

    1. I make a text document and named it MACCHANGER.sh not .txt right? and it made the icon look like a windows command prompt. Also i get this little dot like a period at the beginning on my .sh txt and it follows to the end of my macchanger --random wlan0. (wlan.with the dot) and I tried it without the dot...to no success of changing my mac address. :-( I can however manually do macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0 in a shell window and it will change my mac address.

    2. After I made that I noticed that the system made another icon next to my MACCHANGER.sh..it looks like a white coffe cup and it is called MACCHANGER.sh~ again...is this normal??

    3. After saving it...I rebooted the system and I get a pop-up of my MACCHANGER.sh with that command in it. Is this normal?? And I did ifconfig wlan0 in a shell window and the mac address is still the same...any other suggestions..I don't mind doing a little trial and error guys...just throw me a little bone...lol

  9. #9
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    2. The ~file is a temp file I believe.

    I'll work on this when I get home, maybe I can figure it out.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eristic View Post
    2. The ~file is a temp file I believe.

    I'll work on this when I get home, maybe I can figure it out.

    Ok then...thanks Eristic ....i apprecieate the help.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •