Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Checking for brute-force protection

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member whiterabbit7500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    in your server
    Posts
    33

    Default Checking for brute-force protection

    Does BT4 have any tools to test a server for protection from a brute-force attack? I have a good wordlist to use, but before I start running it, I want to be sure I'm not wasting my time doing it if the server will simply ignore all request after a certain number.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Checking for brute-force protection

    First, a brute-force attack does not use word lists. Read this article: https://www.infosecisland.com/blogvi...y-Attacks.html

    For pure brute force attacks, all you need is the math about how many passwords you may be able to check in a certain time (check server restrictions here!) and the time it would then take to find a certain password of a certain length and contents. Use this: http://lastbit.com/pswcalc.asp

  3. #3
    Junior Member whiterabbit7500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    in your server
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Checking for brute-force protection

    thanks, but that has absolutly nothing to do with my question, regardless of what it's called. I simply called it a brute-force because i'm using wordlist with over 3,000,000 words.

    My question, again, was if there is a way to check the target server for protection against brute-force attacks, such as timeouts, lockouts, etc.

  4. #4
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: Checking for brute-force protection

    hydra or if you want the gui version hydra-gtk

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: Checking for brute-force protection

    Yeah, know what you are attacking and watch the traffic.

    What you are doing is called a dictionary attack and you should know the difference before you even do it.
    Last edited by hhmatt; 02-06-2011 at 08:18 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Brute force a .cap
    By grahamb314 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 02:49 PM
  2. BT4 Brute Force...
    By xPhantom in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 07:52 PM
  3. SSH Brute Force
    By hhmatt in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Software Related Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 11:35 PM
  4. Can aircrack do brute force on WPA
    By spyder in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 12:44 PM
  5. Brute Force A Router??
    By kdiggity317 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-12-2008, 10:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •