Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: wlan0 issues

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default wlan0 issues

    ok so I just recently got bt4 up and running on my virtual box and have hit a roadblock trying to set up the wireless connection. I know the connection exists because I am connected to it on the windows side and I'm using it to make this post right now, but when I try
    /etc/init.d/networking start

    this is what I get

    [IMG] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: wlan0 issues

    We could use more details ...
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: wlan0 issues

    Annnnd are you using a USB wireless adapter?
    Computer security is a temporary condition.

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: wlan0 issues

    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: wlan0 issues

    I have the same issue

    if i do
    iwconfig
    then its sais

    lo no wireless
    eth0 no wireless

    Im using a HP 510 laptop
    i got the eth to work using the internet and network like that but i would like to use the wifi as well
    I just installed backtrack
    so i have almost no experience

  6. #6
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: wlan0 issues

    it looks like your trying to use your wireless card thats in your machine in vmware it wont work use a usb wireless dongle

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: wlan0 issues

    I get the same errors. I am using my Dell laptop. it has the wireless card, drivers, etc installed internally, that is how i am able to access the internet right now.....I abandoned trying to use bt4 through a virtual box, and i run it from the usb....and i get exactly the same thing,

    "no devices detected.
    iwconfig
    lo no wireless
    eth0 no wireless"
    etc etc

    whyyyy does this happen??? i have searched for this answer for days now on google and in these forums. can anyone please give a clear answer??? yes i am a newbie, yes i dont know as much as most of you here. so help out because at one point, you were in my position as well, I don't think you were born knowing about linux and backtrack.

    thanks for the understanding....

Similar Threads

  1. Wlan0 problem
    By DragonHunter in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 09:47 PM
  2. No Wlan0 interface
    By X0n4r in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 12:53 PM
  3. wlan0 issues.
    By turokthehunter in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 12:16 PM
  4. wlan0 error?
    By mixit in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 08:40 PM
  5. wlan0 does not exists ?
    By sylvestor2002 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 08:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •