Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

    Hi all,

    I need some help sorry if this bit newbie question. I have a ALFA AWUS036NH with RT3070 chip-set and trying to use it with air-crack. My question is do I need to download drivers for it to work? or does BT4 already have them installed ?

    When I run
    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    I get

    Code:
    wlan0           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
                                    (monitor mode enabled on mon3)
    mon0            Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
    mon1            Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
    mon2            Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
    when i try [
    CODE]aireplay-ng -9 wlan0[/CODE]

    I get
    Code:
    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead.  Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan0 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.

    any help or points in the right direction will be nice thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO Cloudsever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    ██████
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

    Ok for one you need to take a look at what your actually doing.

    airmon-ng puts your card into monitor mode. "(monitor mode enabled on mon0)"

    "Notice that it created “mon0”. You must then use “mon0” in all the subsequent aircrack-ng tools as the injection interface."

    "aireplay-ng -9 mon0"

  3. #3
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

    wlan0 Ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy0]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon3)
    mon0 Ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy0]
    mon1 Ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy0]
    mon2 Ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy0]

    just take it out of monitor mode and start again
    airmon-ng stop mon3
    "" "" mon2
    you should only have mon0 its enabled in mon3

    on so on after putting your card in monitor mode and your finished doing whatever
    your doing always take the card out of monitor mode
    or just airmon-ng stop wlan0
    and then start again

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

    i need help too.
    i type ifconfig wlan0 all good.
    i type airmon-ng it says wlan0 ralink RT2870/3070 rt2800usb - [phy1]
    i type then airmon-ng start wlan0 it says Found 5 processes that could cause trouble.If airodump-ng, airplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after a short... blabla.

    PID NAME
    12109 dhclient3
    23950 dhclient
    24634 dhclient
    24655 dhclient3
    25080 dhclient3
    process with PID 25080 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0


    then... on the driver it says rt2800usb - [phy1]SIOCSIFFLAGS: no such file or directory and then says monitor mode is enabled on mon0

    then i type airodump-ng wlan0 and says ioctl(SIOCSIFFLAGS) failed: no such file or directory
    same goes with airodump-ng mon0 and aireplay-ng -9 mon0 i tried. when i installed my DWA-140 wireless N usb adapter it asked for a serial key at the end that i didnt put. it said it is alright. that's all. i am a noob as u see that u can all freely rip off but i seriously want help. i use vmplayer for this virtual machine and bt4 final.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

    Its happening because you're trying to use Aircrack on the same wifi card you're using to connect to the internet or elsewhere with Backtrack. (probably your Access Point).

    this means you're putting the device into monitor mode but also using it for normal TCP/IP traffic on Backtrack. (hence the dhcp client issued a dhcp request on it).

    Its best to rather let the card do ONLY monitoring/injecting and use another way to connect your Backtrack to the internet/network such as a second wifi card or a cable in the ethernet port.

Similar Threads

  1. Is ALFA AWUS036NH 2Wat USB RT3070 working properly ???
    By UniCx in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 12:12 AM
  2. Alfa AWUS036NH
    By PaRrO in forum Angolo Wireless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 11:21 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 08:33 AM
  4. I need a help please !! ALFA AWUS036NH
    By f2666 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •