Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Plaisance, LA USA
    Posts
    2

    Default Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

    I just found out about this relatively new nmap gui called nmapsi4 today and wanted to test it out. So I downloaded, unpacked, and installed it according to the instructions of the README file inside the unpacked tar.gz, as follows:
    Build:
    Code:
    # cd tools/
    # ./cmake_verbose_script.sh
    cd ../build/
    # make
    # make install
    Everything appeared successful, so I clicked on the nmapsi4 icon from the BT Menu and nothing happened. Perplexed I went to my /usr/bin/ , found the file and tried to run it from a terminal window by typing "nmapsi4" and received the following output:
    Code:
    bash: /usr/bin/nmapsi4: Permission denied
    which is odd because I am logged in as root. So I tried "sudo nmapsi4" and it told me:
    Code:
    sudo: nmapsi4: command not found
    Anything obvious I'm doing wrong?

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

    Is it set as executable?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

    just so you are aware, there is a GUI for nmap included called zenmap

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

    Just use the full path to it when using sudo.
    Or start working as root
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

    Never in my life have I encountered a program that was more counter intuitive than this pile of bovine fecal matter. No help, no support in any way that I can find. I'm sorry I wasted my time. I have now, offically learned that what is already installed in Bt is what should be utilized. Nuff said!
    -=+ Support the Red & White Machine +=- -=+ Live To Ride-Ride To Live +=- -=+ Angels Don't Die - We Go To Hell And Regroup +=-

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: Unable to run nmapsi4 (nmap gui) on BT4 R2

    if you are truly using bt for what it was intended for you are probably better off starting it off as root anyways,you are the attacker. fyodor has done a great job with the newest update of nmap and zenmap works wonders and it works well within metasploit, why need more?
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

Similar Threads

  1. [nmap] - Erro no Nmap
    By F0K3R in forum Suporte Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 09:58 PM
  2. Tor with nmap/nc
    By kakayoma in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 02:58 AM
  3. Plz help with nmap
    By yucatans in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2008, 01:05 AM
  4. Using Nmap
    By ranees in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 01:36 PM
  5. What next? (Nmap)
    By n00b_h4xx0r in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2007, 01:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •