Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: it doesnt detect wired nor wireless cards!

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default it doesnt detect wired nor wireless cards!

    hi, i'm testing BackTrack 2...
    well.. actually trying to... because once i'm in it doesnt detect my network cards...
    both of them are integrated in my hp notebook...
    ifconfig -a gives me only the lo 127.0.0.1

    if i go to PCI devices my nics appear... but with ifconfig or iwconfig nop...
    what am i missing? drivers??

    thanks in advance..

  2. #2
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ninhovid View Post
    hi, i'm testing BackTrack 2...
    well.. actually trying to... because once i'm in it doesnt detect my network cards...
    both of them are integrated in my hp notebook...
    ifconfig -a gives me only the lo 127.0.0.1

    if i go to PCI devices my nics appear... but with ifconfig or iwconfig nop...
    what am i missing? drivers??

    thanks in advance..
    1. What type of nic(s) do you have?
    2. Did you check the backtrack wiki under supported hardware to see if someone has your system, thus an obvious check for compatibility?
    3. 42

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    thanks for your post...

    yes, i've checked it already and neither my notebook (hp pavillion dv2135LA) nor my network interfaces appear... does it mean i wont be able to use it here? =(

    Intel PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

  4. #4
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Open a console and type
    Code:
    cd /usr/src/drivers/ipw3945-1.2.0
    Hit enter then type
    Code:
    load
    Hit enter


    Your Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG can now be found at eth1

    Did it work?

  5. #5
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    For Those of you that have backtrack2 installed on your hdd. To save typing all that in every time you restart.



    Open a console and type

    Code:
    alias 3945="cd /usr/src/drivers/ipw3945-1.2.0"
    Hit enter


    now all you have to do to enable your Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG is type


    Code:
    3945
    Hit enter


    load


    Hit enter


    replace 3945 with whatever keyword you want as I only used it as an example

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    cool... i'll try it right away...
    i have to restart my OS because i dont want to install BT2 yet...
    and i tried to use it with Microsoft Virtual PC 2004 and it doesnt boot...

    i'll let you now in a couple of minutes...
    and what about my wired nic?
    =)

    thanks!

  7. #7
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ninhovid View Post
    cool... i'll try it right away...
    i have to restart my OS because i dont want to install BT2 yet...
    and i tried to use it with Microsoft Virtual PC 2004 and it doesnt boot...

    i'll let you now in a couple of minutes...
    and what about my wired nic?
    =)

    thanks!
    Idk and if wireless is good then who cares.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    great answer

    could i use BT2 using VMWare right?
    i told you that with VPC2004 didnt work...

    i wouldnt like to be rebooting everytime i want to use it

  9. #9
    Member Eristic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ninhovid View Post
    great answer

    could i use BT2 using VMWare right?
    i told you that with VPC2004 didnt work...

    i wouldnt like to be rebooting everytime i want to use it
    If you search the forums you will see many unanswered posts regarding B|T2 in vmware. For now, you will be on your own as there is no written how to that I know of. I know you can get B|T 1 in vmware, but with 2 out (and being so sexy) it would be a shame to use 1.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    great!
    im posting this from BT2 live cd!
    slow but effective! =)

    now i will read which tool i could use...
    thanks a lot!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •