Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: WICD problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    84

    Default WICD problem

    I have a problem with WICD,

    when I connect to a network (wireless, using wlan0 (Intel® WiFi Link 5100)) And when I connect to a network, no mather what network. It just disconnects sometimes and realy random, no time limit or what so ever. Also when I want to reconnect(the program doesn't to it auto, dispute the setup!) I can't get a IP, so I need to push refresh and then connect. It does looks like, when it can't handel the traffic it disconnects... (like when using: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...-urlsnarf.html ) also when downloading stuff it just disconnects, any suggesties? I already searched but coudn't find anything....

    I have a fresh installation of BT 4 R2

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: WICD problem

    I've noticed this sometimes when running Ubuntu, usually when I'm watching YouTube videos or other video streams.

    WRT ettercap, sslstrip, urlsnarf this is likely because you're breaking the ARP table on your network. You should read up on ARPSpoofing.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: WICD problem

    Thanks for the anwser.

    What do you mean with the second sentenc? WRT? and breaking the ARP table ? and where can I find something about ARPSpoofing? It is just running the script and that's it right ?

  4. #4
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: WICD problem

    Sorry.

    WRT == With regard to

    Using the script you're talking about requires arpspoofing which essentially messes with the Layer2 routing configuration of you system or network (as noted by reading the thread you linked earlier). To find out more try searching around these forums and practicing some google'fu.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: WICD problem

    Ah thanks man!

    But what about the other things, like you mentiond, watching Youtube movies, or uploading man that is a pain in the *@$ to do in backtrack !

  6. #6
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: WICD problem

    I don't know how you can resolve your misc. disconnects. My main point was that by using the script you're talking about you're likely causing some of the disconnects/problems yourself.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: WICD problem

    Uhm thanks man but I can't find anything usefull becouse that script does everything, if I am right ?
    Last edited by nivong; 01-17-2011 at 11:09 AM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member wh1t3fang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    from the internet
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: WICD problem

    you could try connecting manually using the command line.
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 essid mynetworkname
    iwconfig wlan0 key mynetworkkey
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    dhclient wlan0
    I find that this works better then wicd in a lot of cases
    Last edited by wh1t3fang; 01-17-2011 at 12:57 PM.
    wh1t3 fang

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: WICD problem

    Thank you, sir from the internet!

    That works indeed, any suggestions for a other program with GUI ? (so a alternative for wicd's gui program)?

  10. #10
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: WICD problem

    I always just throw my connection commands into rc.local, or .bashrc or .bash_profile. I find connecting via CLI to be much more reliable

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Wicd 1.7.0
    By num3r in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 03:51 PM
  2. Problem with wicd
    By imported_h4x0r in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Software Related Issues
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 07:28 PM
  3. wicd problem
    By Acaloth in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Software Related Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 06:04 AM
  4. problem with Wicd and WPA2
    By manco1911 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 04:31 AM
  5. wicd connection problem
    By mahabad1972 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •