Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3

    Question How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    I was wondering, I have XP professional on my main hard drive and BackTrack4 on my second drive. How would I go about editing this to make it work?

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    I know I would add a line like this under [Operating Systems] below windows xp pro

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    So how would I edit that to make it boot to BackTrack from the second hard drive?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    I would recommend simply reinstalling backtrack, because it installs and configures grub for you. It also gives you the chance to update to the latest backtrack (BT4R2).
    Student Systems Administration and Network Engineering, second year.
    Don't PM me with questions, unless very specific. Otherwise, use the forums so everyone can potentially benefit from it.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    Quote Originally Posted by Xloit View Post
    I was wondering, I have XP professional on my main hard drive and BackTrack4 on my second drive. How would I go about editing this to make it work?

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    I know I would add a line like this under [Operating Systems] below windows xp pro

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    So how would I edit that to make it boot to BackTrack from the second hard drive?
    This is an XP Boot.ini, you cannot use this to boot linux. You can reinstall GRUB without reinstalling backtrack.

    Dualboot Two Hard Drives - Ubuntu Forums

    This should be all you need to boot to either hd.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    Thanks alot guys for replyin to me, much appreciated. Do any of you have yahoo messenger, so I can message you personaly if I have a question so I dont spam the post lol

  5. #5
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    If you run into problems please ask here incase other people have the same problem.

  6. #6
    Member alacrityathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    Another way to dual boot is to completely isolate one hard drive from the other. Take out one hard drive while you install BT on the other hard drive and vice versa. Then just use your F12 boot key to select the hard drive you want to boot. Very clean approach.

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    Quote Originally Posted by alacrityathome View Post
    Another way to dual boot is to completely isolate one hard drive from the other. Take out one hard drive while you install BT on the other hard drive and vice versa. Then just use your F12 boot key to select the hard drive you want to boot. Very clean approach.
    It is not always F12 that takes you to the boot menu.

  8. #8
    Junior Member nam5301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: How do I dual boot with two hard drives?

    Quote Originally Posted by Xloit View Post
    I was wondering, I have XP professional on my main hard drive and BackTrack4 on my second drive. How would I go about editing this to make it work?

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    I know I would add a line like this under [Operating Systems] below windows xp pro

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

    So how would I edit that to make it boot to BackTrack from the second hard drive?

    =================================================

    How I have my backtrack and windows 7 setup on my computer is I set the spare hard drive (d:\) that is going to be backtrack's disk as the first to be booted, and the windows hard drive to be the secondary (C:\). Then boot Backtrack LIVE CD ISO, and install backtrack to the spare hard drive (D:\). After you got Backtrack installed, it will boot to a screen with options, the first 2 options is to bring you to backtrack, the second to last option will say windows xp professional, but it'll just bring you to whatever windows you currently have installed. i think this is a safer way of running backtrack and windows in the same computer, rather than sharing a hard drive and partitioning it to run both windows and backtrack. It's very important that you set your bios to have the backtrack hard drive to be the first booted or else the windows hard drive will ignore backtrack and not even give you an option to choose which operating system you want to log into. Hope this helps, I kinda figure this stuff out myself. it wasn't too hard, but once you learn a little bit here and there, you'll learn to put all the puzzle pieces together to setup how you want your computer to be. I would send you a screen shot of what I am talking about but I have to turn off my computer to do it.

Similar Threads

  1. BackTrack 4 Pre-Release not recognizing anything on hard drives (raid 0)
    By paradigm in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 10:54 PM
  2. dual boot (XP/BT3F) on separate drives
    By algemy in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2008, 03:33 PM
  3. BackTrack On USB Hard Drive/No Dual Boot Help
    By TheVault in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 11:06 AM
  4. I wanna dual boot xp and backtrack 3 from hard drive
    By ontherooftop in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2008, 12:32 AM
  5. decrypting FDE hard drives
    By hexabot in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 07:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •