Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Apologies for what is probably a lame question, but I've tried a bunch of different boot options for BackTrack 4 and can't get a GUI like I could using BackTrack 3. I'm booting from USB - not sure if that matters. Any help? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The new forums
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Try typing startx into the terminal.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Iv been wondering, why there is no info how to get BT4 to graphical mode. Iv been using BT4 beta ,which says after login that type in startx to start graphical mode. Thats hoe I know it, but what if someono who starts using BT 4 final.

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Quote Originally Posted by halfdone View Post
    Iv been wondering, why there is no info how to get BT4 to graphical mode. Iv been using BT4 beta ,which says after login that type in startx to start graphical mode. Thats hoe I know it, but what if someono who starts using BT 4 final.
    This is not a beginner's distro. Besides that, there are tutorials and videos that mention the use of the startx command to enter graphical mode.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO kiloraw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    On the side, in the middle, compass points east
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Also there is a tutorial for, not having to use startx, just google it.
    Nevermind I dont want the gurus to be lazy wit me -so hear:
    DUh://forums.remote-exploit.org/backtrack-4-howto/26257-how-autologin-auto-startx-auto-booting.html

    Hope it helps
    Also when logging try sudo -i, it gets annoying after a while with sudo crap

  6. #6
    Member Mr-Protocol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    If you have kept up on BT distro releases. The BT3 start page after boot told you what you needed to do. Login and type startx to start the xwindows. I can't remember if BT4 does that or not. Been a long day at work.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    hey guys great advice with the startX

    I was able to bypass some errors I was having ... Not sur what problems this will open up... But that command has helped me get past the boot screen


    thansk!

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Told you it was a lame question. I didn't use BT3 much so I couldn't remember the command, other than that I had accessed a graphical mode before. Thanks for the replies, much appreciated.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: BackTrack 4 in graphical mode

    Hi, I solved my problem. Now im using BT4.

    The solution was to type in "fixvesa" and then "startx"

    And I even managed to start using my logitech MX5500 keyboard and mouse.

Similar Threads

  1. Forensic mode suggestions
    By Donuts in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2010, 02:21 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 06:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •