Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Problem with Alfa AWUS036H [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132 in VMWARE

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Problem with Alfa AWUS036H [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132 in VMWARE

    Ok so im using VMWare and everytime I try to enable the monitor mode on my Alfa AWUS036H I get this error [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132. Unfortunately I am very new to Linux, excuse my nubidity. I did check the rest of the forums and got some idea's on what to do but it seems a little confusing. Can someone break it down a little please. For example, how do I install a new/better driver. Or any other alternatives that would work?

    PS: I am using Backtrack Version 4 R2, and VMware Workstation 3.1.3

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default Re: Problem with Alfa AWUS036H [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132 in VMWARE

    Did you make sure, that the USB device is connected to the VM and not the host system?

    Workstation 3.1.3? That is way outdated. The current version is 7.1. That might also be a reason.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Problem with Alfa AWUS036H [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132 in VMWARE


  4. #4
    Junior Member nam5301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Problem with Alfa AWUS036H [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132 in VMWARE

    Quote Originally Posted by Neurotoxin312 View Post
    Ok so im using VMWare and everytime I try to enable the monitor mode on my Alfa AWUS036H I get this error [phy0]SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132. Unfortunately I am very new to Linux, excuse my nubidity. I did check the rest of the forums and got some idea's on what to do but it seems a little confusing. Can someone break it down a little please. For example, how do I install a new/better driver. Or any other alternatives that would work?

    PS: I am using Backtrack Version 4 R2, and VMware Workstation 3.1.3
    -------------------------------------------------

    I found out that running backtrack on VMware really sucks. you should find a spare hard drive (10gb or above) and install backtrack on that and run it as primary bootup in your bios. when booted up, then you can have the option to choose to boot up backtrack or windows. that's how I do it now, no more VMWARE! It's sso slooow

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 05:34 PM
  2. ioctl(SIOCSIFFLAGS) failed: Unknown error 132
    By wings in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-18-2010, 10:32 PM
  3. Networking - Alfa AWUS036H - BT4 and VMware 7
    By Valkyrie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-16-2010, 12:19 AM
  4. Alfa AWUS036H and VMware with wicd
    By Onryo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 06:06 PM
  5. Alfa AWUS036H VMWare
    By cliffyb1 in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2009, 03:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •