Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: setting screen resolution to persistant

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default setting screen resolution to persistant

    Hi ,

    I've just made a persistent install of Backtrack four and was just wondering how to set the screen resolution to the one I'm using but have Backtrack boot into it when i re-start?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Hey people

    Hey everybody! I was just seeking for some info on this topic. Do you know more good forums or other similar resources about this?

  3. #3
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Hey people

    Simply make a script whih changes the resolution and add it to start-up
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ogre, Latvia
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: setting screen resolution to persistant

    i also thought that script will rulez... BUT...


    root@bt:~# cvt 1366 768
    # 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
    Modeline "1368x768_60.00" 85.25 1368 1440 1576 1784 768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
    root@bt:~# xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00" 85.25 1368 1440 1576 1784 768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
    root@bt:~# xrandr --addmode default 1368x768
    xrandr: cannot find mode "1368x768"
    root@bt:~# xrandr --addmode default 1368x768_60.00
    root@bt:~# xrandr --output default --mode 1368x768_60.00

    And like i googled, i am not the only 1 with that problem...

  5. #5
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: setting screen resolution to persistant

    Try adding the resolution to xorg.conf before.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NE USA
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: setting screen resolution to persistant

    As this is the beginners forum, I am assuming that it is safe to state that people asking for a solution to a problem are not in search of "just do this" answers. I tried to post this same question yesterday, but I guess I put it in the wrong place. When I boot into my BT dual boot, the screen resolution is terrible, comparable to that of a fresh Windows install with no drivers added.

    I believe the original question was how to permanently set the screen resolution? If anyone has specific knowledge of this procedure and is willing to graphically explain the procedure with concise details, I and probably others would greatly appreciate it. When answering, please assume that I am brand new to Backtrack and Linux, thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. Blurry screen when adjusting screen resolution
    By barre1986 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2010, 12:26 PM
  2. BT4 pre final, persistant and startx locked screen ...help
    By antartide in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 07:09 PM
  3. Setting Resolution On Nvidia Cards
    By fastboi in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 09:17 PM
  4. Screen resolution for LOGIN screen
    By Vodkabot in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2008, 07:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •