Thread: Is there an order to learn things?

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Is there an order to learn things?

This may have been asked before, but I could not find a list. I would recommend someone to make a sticked post if it is possible to answer.
    But I am fairly new to BT and I was wondering if there is an order to learn things. I have had my struggles but was wondering if there was some sort of direction I should be considering. I have successfully used ng-crack and have messed with quite a few other programs. So is there a set order that is best to learn things or does it depend on the path I wish to take with this knowledge? and if the latter what kind of paths should I consider?

Default Re: Is there an order to learn things?

http://www.offensive-security.com/

I don't think there is a written order on how to learn these things, you could just check quick reviews/demos and see if you understand them or not, if you don't try something easier.

I have successfully used ng-crack and have messed with quite a few other programs. So is there a set order that is best to learn things or does it depend on the path I wish to take with this knowledge?
    I would suggest first you learn the techniques, when they are used, how they work before starting to use tools, it will be a lot easier to you and I'm sure you can get a lot of answers if you check the Video section and the HowTo.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

HERE is a list of topics that you should consider studying

There isn't a single correct answer to this question. The order in which you should ideally learn things relating to BackTrack will be dependent on what you want to use BackTrack for. Assuming it's penetration testing, there are multiple different types of penetration tests, and specialties within the field.