Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Possible WICD bug?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    70

    Default Possible WICD bug?

    I'm using BT4R1 (haven't done a complete upgrade, yet). Seems like if I use wicd to connect to my WPA network, the connection randomly resets. I've looked through google and the logs, but haven't found a smoking gun yet for the cause. Switching to use wpa_supplicant and dhclient manually clears up the issue (but I figured I'd let you know). I'll upgrade to BT4R2 this weekend and see if that fixes the issue as well.

    Regardless, this only started happening recently. I do an apt-get update && apt-get upgrade daily (but not a dist-upgrade, to keep myself on BT4R1). Perhaps I'm doing something wrong with this action?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Possible WICD bug?

    How far from the AP are you? try manually connecting to see if the problem still exists.
    I thought wicd had a bug too until I tried this.

    Quote Originally Posted by orgcandman View Post
    I'm using BT4R1 (haven't done a complete upgrade, yet). Seems like if I use wicd to connect to my WPA network, the connection randomly resets. I've looked through google and the logs, but haven't found a smoking gun yet for the cause. Switching to use wpa_supplicant and dhclient manually clears up the issue (but I figured I'd let you know). I'll upgrade to BT4R2 this weekend and see if that fixes the issue as well.

    Regardless, this only started happening recently. I do an apt-get update && apt-get upgrade daily (but not a dist-upgrade, to keep myself on BT4R1). Perhaps I'm doing something wrong with this action?
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    70

    Default Re: Possible WICD bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    How far from the AP are you?
    In the same room - no obstructions.

    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    try manually connecting to see if the problem still exists.
    I thought wicd had a bug too until I tried this.
    As I posted - when I manually wrote out a wpa_supplicant config file, and used dhclient, the issue went away - which is why I suspect a WICD bug.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Possible WICD bug?

    Ahhh.. I suppose I should read before I comment huh?

    WICD hasn't been developed for some time. I went on their site a month ago and the last post in the forum was asking where everyone was.

    I wrote my own network script to overcome the multiple issues I was having with it. Maybe its time for another network connection utility.

    Quote Originally Posted by orgcandman View Post
    In the same room - no obstructions.


    As I posted - when I manually wrote out a wpa_supplicant config file, and used dhclient, the issue went away - which is why I suspect a WICD bug.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Junior Member Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Possible WICD bug?

    It's not a good idea to use wicd...
    It will be better to use the console...

Similar Threads

  1. Problema Wicd
    By blacksabbath86 in forum Angolo Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 03:23 PM
  2. WICD- a little help please
    By nevermore in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 07:20 PM
  3. wicd won't appear at all.
    By ienaxxx in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 08:27 PM
  4. Wicd
    By vladi in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Package and feature Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 09:13 AM
  5. Anyone ever use WICD in BT3 or even BT2?
    By ravalox in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 01:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •