Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: No airodump-ng acting after making airmon-ng

  1. #1
    Member m0j4h3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    84

    Exclamation No airodump-ng acting after making airmon-ng

    Hi all .. hope u doing good, am facing a problem in my network card on laptop (toshiba satellite)
    after typing
    iwconfig in shell, i get
    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth1      IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"ThomsonE2A46B"  Nickname:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:1F:9F:D3:1F:EB
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:24 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Managementmode:All packets received
              Link Quality=5/5  Signal level=-33 dBm  Noise level=-83 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:3  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    so that eth1 is my wireless network card
    i want to make airodump-ng .. so i made airmon-ng start eth1 and got
    Code:
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start eth1
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    eth1            Broadcom                wl (monitor mode enabled)
    after that i type airodump-ng eth1 to see my wireless router so i get this
    Code:
    root@bt:~# airodump-ng eth1
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument
    
    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead.  Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.
    !!!!!!!!!!!
    any idea guys !! ??
    where is the problem .. by the way .. am using bt r1 wich not updated .. does the update solves the problem .. or there is another way
    and special thanks
    btw .. my card as shown in lspci is Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
    Last edited by m0j4h3d; 01-07-2011 at 12:04 AM.
    ---> 3v3RY D4y P4ss3S 1 f0uNd N3W th1NGs <---
    Knowing how 2 use BT dsnt mean that u r hacker

  2. #2
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default AW: No airodump-ng acting after making airmon-ng

    Did you try

    Code:
    airodump-ng wl
    instead of

    Code:
    airodump-ng eth1
    since airmon-ng said monitor mode was enabled on wl?

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default AW: No airodump-ng acting after making airmon-ng

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum....html?langid=3

    Also try this. Sometimes when you type "airodump-ng [wireless card name]" you get an error message but when you type "airodump-ng mon0" it works.
    so : "airodump-ng mon0" after you did "airmon-ng start eth1".

  4. #4
    Member m0j4h3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default AW: No airodump-ng acting after making airmon-ng

    thanks for replying .. Carnivore: yes i did it .. but nothing .. it says that monitor mode is not enabled ...
    LHYX1: yes i tried also..but as i read that driver wl is not working with aircrack tool ... but the driver b43 is .. so need to move from wl to b43 so that it can works .. and am looking and searching also .. and any solution could help .. post it here
    thanks again
    ---> 3v3RY D4y P4ss3S 1 f0uNd N3W th1NGs <---
    Knowing how 2 use BT dsnt mean that u r hacker

  5. #5
    Member m0j4h3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default AW: No airodump-ng acting after making airmon-ng

    i have found that its not supported by aircrack till now .. so am gonna buy new card ... only this list
    14e4:4311 b43/wl
    14e4:4313 2.6.33+
    14e4:4315 2.6.33+
    14e4:4301 b43legacy B
    14e4:4306 G
    14e4:4320 G
    14e4:4307 b43 G
    14e4:4312 G
    14e4:4318 G
    14e4:4319 G
    14e4:4320 G
    14e4:5354 G

    cu guys
    ---> 3v3RY D4y P4ss3S 1 f0uNd N3W th1NGs <---
    Knowing how 2 use BT dsnt mean that u r hacker

Similar Threads

  1. cryptsetup is acting up with certain ciphers
    By Shatter in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 09:38 AM
  2. edimax with airmon and airodump many interface
    By samer in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-15-2009, 07:00 PM
  3. Alfa AWUS036H is acting strange
    By Shatter in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 07:32 PM
  4. Making a usb BT persistant.
    By Coniferous in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 09:07 PM
  5. Alfa AWUS036H Acting Strange Power Issues
    By elus1v in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-12-2008, 06:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •