Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WPA configuration problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default WPA configuration problem

    Hello,

    i have a notebook Acer Travelmate 2490 with a Broadcom BCM4318 Wireless
    Chip.

    So far everything seems to work fine. I installed BT2 on a small partition beside my WinXP partition.

    I have eth0 and eth1 devices (& iwconfig says eth0 is the wireless nic).

    After changing my wireless router settings (D-Link DI-524) to WEP security (previously WPA-PSK) i even surfed the internet (very slow, but it worked).
    I changed it to WEP, coz the "Wireless Assistant 0.5.5" seems to support only WEP. (or am i wrong?)

    For security reasons i want the WPA-PSK setting, so what can i do?

    After a lot of searching&browsing i have 2 more specific questions:

    Do I need wpa_supplicant for Backtrack2 to get WPA working?

    Do I need Ndiswrapper+driver files for Backtrack2 to get WPA working?

    Tried both, but got lost in the config files.

    Please help and gimme a hint in the right direction...

    Thx in advance! (&excuse my bad english)

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Yeah I have similar problem. Anybody know the solution?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    check out my thread about this

    cant post urls

    its called "Z-Com and WPA"

    Mike

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Dont help me.

    In the script you use wpa_supplicant but i dont find it on my laptop?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    335

    Default

    wpa_supplicant
    http://www.4shared.com/file/14578667...licanttar.html
    rename it to wpa_supplicant.tgz
    in your command prompt type installpkg wpa_supplicant.tgz

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thx it worked.
    I tried "make install" before, but with "installpkg" it worked.

    Now i am connected to my AP (device=wext).
    BUT i cant ping anyone in the network or the internet (even the "connected" AP isnt pingable).

    And another question: when i use "iwconfig" it says that the device is at 11Mbit/s speed, but it should be 54 MBit/s. Where do i change the speed setting?

    Can anyone help out again?

    Thx in advance (and thx Baxter for the installpkg tip).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •