Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Connecting pc's??

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    43

    Default Connecting pc's??

    Is there anyway you can connect two pc's running bt and use the power of both to brute force? ie using one as master and the other as slave for its cpu/gpu power? Both would be sat side by side so and ethernet cable is possible.

  2. #2
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: Connecting pc's??

    clustering systems is certainly a possibility and is widely used in everything from nuclear physics to looking for extra-terrestrial life. however, setting up a cluster is REALLY outside the scope of these forums.
    however, on the bright side...this is not a stupid question at all. if you sniffed around enough you could pull this off (and maybe even share your war stories).

    good luck with that...
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

  3. #3
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Connecting pc's??

    I know newer versions of pyrit can run with client or server mode over the network, so you can just put them both on the same LAN for WPA-PSK work anyway. I'm not real sure about oclhashcat.
    Anyway, about using pyrit this way, see here

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Connecting pc's??

    Like the 'war stories' bit (slightly worrying), thought it should be possible its just how now.
    My mate has two mac's and mac laptop and they will connect together very easy, mind you he has tried it with bt yet.

    Thank you macphail, i shall start searching now and when i get it sorted ill put up a post.

    Thank you iproute, although my hardware at present doesnt work with pyrit/cuda it will do with my new machine and getting an extra cuda card wont be a problem, could be a very useable solution indeed
    Last edited by christ044; 01-06-2011 at 05:41 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Connecting pc's??

    I'm 100% sure there is code out there for this, however its probably for windows, unless your talking about gpu cracking and in that case pyrit already supports clustering.

    I'd love to see a framework developed tho, that would be sweet. Could be highly useful in a office building on off hours. Or even just setup a throttling feature. Something like Set@home

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting to WPA
    By n000b in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 08:23 AM
  2. please help with connecting to net...
    By CD-4+ in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 05:09 AM
  3. Connecting to WEP using a HEX key
    By thucar in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2008, 12:23 PM
  4. Connecting to the AP
    By cleanwithit2008 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2008, 05:22 AM
  5. Connecting to VNC
    By Amish in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 05:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •