Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Backtrack Guest (VBox) dial up connection

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Backtrack Guest (VBox) dial up connection

    Yes, I know dial up is the ass end of connections, but i move around alot, so need to figure this out. Now i am a total noob when it comes to networking, and pretty much backtrack as well, i just started to learn this stuff basically. Im trying to create either a connection thatll share the internet from my Win 7 dial up or create something within backtrack thatll let me use my dial up modem. So far nothing has worked, i have tried google and such for help, nothing great so far. My win 7 does have a firewall, the windows and another, took em down, nothing changed, net dont work through BT. Ive tried messing with NAT and the Bridge, that didnt work, though i didnt think it would, Bridge said my ether card, which is not what im using for net obviously. I dont know what DNS is (domain name server?) i know what an ip address is kind of, dont kknow how to see mine though. I need this to help get apps, i got to do it through a share folder and then compile whatever tarball file through konsole... gets tedious. Btw it took me 3 days to learn how to get a share folder between guest and host cause i didnt know what directories were or the cd command, thats how much of a noob i am.

  2. #2
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Backtrack Guest (VBox) dial up connection

    work backwards first. Without knowing anything about DNS or networking, you will fail with backtrack. You will be unable to bridge your vbox to your dial up connection. set the vbox guest networking to NAT and use
    Code:
    root@bt:~# dhclient eth0
    inside of backtrack

Similar Threads

  1. Help Creating Dial-Up, PPPoE Connection
    By MASTERofMINDS in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 06:00 AM
  2. VBox guest additions not working on Backtrack 4 R2
    By falseteeth in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 06:58 PM
  3. dial up connection
    By alphbond in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-12-2010, 11:56 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 11:42 AM
  5. Dial-up Connection on BT3
    By drdeathpriest in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2008, 03:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •