Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2

    Question Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Hi guys,

    I have a Sony Vaio VPCEB1E0E, the issue I have is with the Intel HD Graphics chip, It has a native resolution of 1366x768, I can achieve 1024x768 using fix-vesa. However, dragging windows or scrolling is very jerky. I have searched absolutely everywhere for a resolution to my resolution problem (pun intended lol) for a good few weeks now, I have been a Linux user for a while now and I really wanted to try and fix this without asking noobish questions on this forum. The best I came up with was Intel Linux Graphics: Installation but I cannot get this to work. Its really annoying me now. It was my own fault really for buying the laptop without checking the compatibility first.

    Ubuntu 10.04 on the other hand recognizes the intel hd graphics perfectly! what does Ubuntu 10.04 have that backtrack 4 r2 doesn't?

    If anyone else has this a fix for this problem please let me know the steps you took.

    Really sorry again for having to ask for help :/

    Silentnoise

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Similar problem. I have Intel integrated graphics, my screen has 1368x766 resolution, and the most I get when I boot backtract off a USB drive is 1280x720. I tried changing the resolution in xorg.conf, or running xrandr, but none of this worked. Ubuntu 10.10 has no problem. This is really annoying me, but I can't fix it, I'd appreciate any help.

    AldousU

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Right now with that graphics card you're kinda SOL. I have the same problem with my Dell Inspiron 1764. For right now you're stuck with the less than optimal res.. It will get fixed someday but right now I suggest dual booting. Personally I run Ubuntu 10.10 for day to day and BT4 strictly for pen testing.... Though I have found, in most situations my netbook serves better as a pen testing machine for a few reasons..

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    http://pastebin.com/A0t5FVRQ

    Here is my xorg.conf file for my sony vpceb15fx

    I DO NOT know why this worked but I get 1368/768 resolution.

    If anyone can elaborate on this it would be greatly appreciated.

    I DONT PROMISE ANYTHING but let me know if it worked.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    http://pastebin.com/A0t5FVRQ

    Here is my xorg.conf file for my sony vpceb15fx

    I DO NOT know why this worked but I get 1368/768 resolution.

    If anyone can elaborate on this it would be greatly appreciated.

    I DONT PROMISE ANYTHING but let me know if it worked.
    Confirmed on a Sony VPCEA24FM.

    The summary:

    Code:
     fix-vesa
    vim /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Press insert on your keyboard to use vim in edit mode.
    scroll down to the screen section, subsection display. find the 24 depth entry.
    below that is a list of pre-configured modes.
    Remove all modes and replace with ONLY "1152x864"
    then press escape, type a colon : then wq. Press enter and reboot.
    Looks much better.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    I knew I wasn't crazy. I still have no idea why that worked, but it did. so I just use it.
    Thanks for confirming this!!

    Quote Originally Posted by godofmonkeys View Post
    Confirmed on a Sony VPCEA24FM.

    The summary:

    Code:
     fix-vesa
    vim /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Press insert on your keyboard to use vim in edit mode.
    scroll down to the screen section, subsection display. find the 24 depth entry.
    below that is a list of pre-configured modes.
    Remove all modes and replace with ONLY "1152x864"
    then press escape, type a colon : then wq. Press enter and reboot.
    Looks much better.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Hey guys,

    I have the same problem, but that resolution trick doesn't worked for me.

    I have the intel graphics from the core i3 processor, and can't get 1366x768 resolution.

    Then, i compiled the xorg in an alternative path. Everything worked when
    Code:
    startx -- /opt/xorg/bin/Xorg
    , but can use it just with vesa, if i put intel there (at xorg.conf), i get a
    no screens found
    Here is the xorg.conf
    http://pastebin.com/WMqUxFWx

    And here goes the Xorg.0.log
    http://pastebin.com/vDqW5g4C


    Anyone can help?

    Did i put it in a clear way?
    Sorry for any grammatical error.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Cool AW: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    FIXED =) hope this would help u 2

    and now how to fix this damned intel prob on bt 4 r2
    @ first be sure u r loged in as root then open shell and type in
    apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-intel
    and if u get an anwer like this

    Code:
    root@bt:~# apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-intel
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    xserver-xorg-video-intel is already the newest version.
    xserver-xorg-video-intel set to manually installed.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 6 not upgraded.
    this means "already the newest version" luck for u

    right now move to ur xorg.conf u find it at /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    open it and search for " Graphics device section" <-- remember the line is different on every system

    Code:
    398.# **********************************************************************
    399.# Graphics device section
    400.# **********************************************************************
    401. 
    402.# Any number of graphics device sections may be present
    403. 
    404.Section "Device"
    405.    Identifier  "VESA Framebuffer"
    406.    Driver      "intel"     <-----------!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HERE
    407.    #VideoRam    4096
    408.    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    409.EndSection
    410. 
    411.# **********************************************************************
    on most systems the "DRIVER" is set to "VESA" or everything else change it and type in "intel" OK next Step

    now scroll down to the next point called "Screen sections"

    Code:
    411.# **********************************************************************
    412.# Screen sections
    413.# **********************************************************************
    414. 
    415.# Any number of screen sections may be present.  Each describes
    416.# the configuration of a single screen.  A single specific screen section
    417.# may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
    418.# option.
    419.Section "Screen"
    420.    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    421.    Device      "VESA Framebuffer"
    422.    Monitor     "My Monitor"
    423. 
    424.# If your card can handle it, a higher default color depth (like 24 or 32)
    425.# is highly recommended.
    426. 
    427.#   DefaultDepth 8
    428.#   DefaultDepth 16    <---------- HERE !!
    429.   DefaultDepth 24
    430.#   DefaultDepth 32
    431. 
    432.# "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution.  If you
    433.# have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
    434.# "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
    435.# card/monitor can produce)
    436. 
    437.    Subsection "Display"
    438.        Depth       8
    439.        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    440.    EndSubsection
    441.    Subsection "Display"
    442.        Depth       16
    443.        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    444.    EndSubsection
    445.    Subsection "Display"
    446.        Depth       24
    447.        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    448.    EndSubsection
    449.    Subsection "Display"
    450.        Depth       32
    451.        Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    452.    EndSubsection
    453. 
    454.EndSection
    search for the depht and change it exactly like show'n following also remember the lines maybe different on your system

    Code:
    427.#   DefaultDepth 8
    428.   DefaultDepth 16   <---- delete the presign 
    429.#   DefaultDepth 24 <---- set the presign
    430.#   DefaultDepth 32
    u can test every depht but first try the 16 bit !
    now save your xorg.conf then log out and reboot ur system

    ENJOY =)

    if u get probs like "no screen found" or anything else type in
    fix-vesa and then change the depth again
    have a nice day

  9. #9
    Junior Member whiterabbit7500's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    in your server
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Getting nothing but the "no screens found" error, and I've tried just about everything. the default vesa conf seems to be the only one that works. The intel driver is installed, but i can't set "intel" as the driver or I get the error. I'm running on a Lenovo Z560 witth an i3-370. Any ideas?

    EDIT: when I type startx to restart the server with a new conf, it tells me "Failed to load module "type1" (module does not exist, 0). This only happens with the intel driver selected, Vesa works fine.
    Last edited by whiterabbit7500; 01-21-2011 at 10:24 AM.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Intel HD Graphics | Backtrack 4 r2

    Quote Originally Posted by whiterabbit7500 View Post
    Getting nothing but the "no screens found" error, and I've tried just about everything. the default vesa conf seems to be the only one that works. The intel driver is installed, but i can't set "intel" as the driver or I get the error. I'm running on a Lenovo Z560 witth an i3-370. Any ideas?

    EDIT: when I type startx to restart the server with a new conf, it tells me "Failed to load module "type1" (module does not exist, 0). This only happens with the intel driver selected, Vesa works fine.
    Exact same problem here on my Lenovo L512 i5-520M.
    I have options for 1024x768, 800x600, 848x480, and 640x480. But if I change driver to "intel" I get the error.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Intel HD Graphics for Backtrack
    By Linuxn00b08 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2010, 04:25 AM
  2. Intel GMA X4500 garbled graphics under BT4 Final /w fix
    By analognipple in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 08:07 PM
  3. Arrandale Intel HD Graphics
    By LawstCawz in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 02:33 PM
  4. Eee 1101HA graphics problem - Intel GMA500
    By Dishwasher in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 12:50 AM
  5. eee PC 901 Intel 945GME graphics drivers
    By hippocrates in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 02:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •