Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: WICD can't find/set IP

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    7

    Default WICD can't find/set IP

    Okay, so I have an HP netbook. In WICD I can see all of the wireless connections but when i connect to lets say an unsecured network I get a message that says it can't find/set an IP address. Also, when I try my wireless router which is wpa2 secured, (i know the password) the wireless manager thing hangs at the validating part which then says it is a bad password. Any idea what this is all about?

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: WICD can't find/set IP

    Are you sure you selected the right encryption on WICD ? Also have you tried manually connecting ?
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: WICD can't find/set IP

    Definitely research manually connecting. You'll be much more prepared to troubleshoot and or repair the GUI connections. Sometimes wpa_supplicant requires special definitions in the conf file. Hidden SSIDs for instance need a special type of entry to work. Here is what I use for mine.
    Code:
    darkside-ng ~ # cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa.conf 
    network={
    	ssid="dd-wrt"
    	scan_ssid=1
    	proto=WPA
    	key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    	#psk=""
    	psk=
    }
    Here it is shown using my device's default SSID. I've omitted my PSK string and hash, but these are normally generated using the wpa_passphase command. I believe in this case the scan_ssid and key_mgmt as well as proto variables were added.

    Definitly have a quick read of
    Code:
    root@bt:~# man wpa_supplicant.conf
    Last edited by iproute; 12-07-2010 at 06:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51

    Default Re: WICD can't find/set IP

    Ok here is a wicked site that will definitely benefit you, it helped me perfectly

    Wireless Security 802.11 Security Wirelessdefence.org Index

    If I were you just double check your WICD is started and then from there you can run the WICD manager and try connect. I know i have used WICD and the iwconfig to connect to my WPA2 wireless without hassles.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-08-2010, 12:05 PM
  2. WICD- a little help please
    By nevermore in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 07:20 PM
  3. wicd can not find access point for wifi
    By bekir in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 12:40 AM
  4. Anyone ever use WICD in BT3 or even BT2?
    By ravalox in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 01:41 PM
  5. Find handshake: help find password
    By spinmar in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-03-2008, 10:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •