Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    Hi, so my question is how do I set up a DNS server to only redirect DNS requests for let's say 'windowsupdate.microsoft.com' to a host of my choice. And act as a normal dns server for all other DNS requests. So that the "victim" does not notice anything.

    Thanks in advance!

    Best regards

  2. #2
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    What you are asking for can be done in your own LAN, you should take a look at the tool called ettercap and its plugins, or even search the Video secion I'm sure that you will find what you are looking for.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    What if you wanted to just create the DNS server to have on the web, not on your local network, is that possible?

  4. #4
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    You mean use ettercap to make a DNS spoof ? on the internet ?
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    Something like that, if I remember correctly I saw a guy setting up a Gre tunnel and using that to create a tunnel to sniff a remote network.

    I was just wondering is that possible through backtrack 4. The other guy was using another linux distro. I don't mind researching if you can point me in the right direction.

    I was thinking, taking the router and pointing the dns to a dns server or another location your able to monitor and or block webpages without actually being on the network to change the blocked pages.

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    Linux is Linux. If they could do it in another distro you can do it in backtrack.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    That's why I was asking, does anyone here know how to get it done, I would like to see is it possible.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    74

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    Why not just poison the hosts file? The host will check that file before it ever even touches a DNS server anyway.

  9. #9
    Junior Member dec1bel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    Hosts file is the easiest way to do it if you have access to the machine.

    I've done this on my LAN while trying out the dsniff set of tools. You could use arpspoof and dnsspoof from that toolset to achieve what you are doing on your LAN, but ettercap will enable you to do more.

    You're getting into complicated territory if you are trying to resolve DNS requests upstream.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How do I set up a "transparent" dns server?

    Its for very specific purposes, that's why Im looking for help. The clients are pretty open so they can edit the host files themselves, what they cannot access is the router since it's secured from them. I would like to be able to create a dns server that the routers point to that allows most of the traffic and blocks some websites that they shouldn't be allowed to visit.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 04:52 PM
  2. Advanced server ssl shell shoveling AND "Gender-Bender"
    By imported_vvpalin in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 06:01 PM
  3. Any reason not to go "transparent"?
    By Virchanza in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-16-2009, 01:35 PM
  4. "Fatal server error" after startx.
    By SpenzeR in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 10:12 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 08:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •