Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Thumbs up ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Hello community

    I have been struggling to get my card (ALFA AWUS036NH) working, however as you see in the topic it seems as if it won't find any nearby networks, while there actually are about 10 nearby. (checked on windows machine).

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks guys!

    EDIT: I am using the BT4R2

    /Druoppa

  2. #2
    Member skinnypuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    You obviously failed to search the forum before posting this as the AWUS036NH does work. I have one so I know this for a fact. BT4R2 (2.6.35 kernel) loads the rt2800usb driver which works for mon/inj, if you want to surf the net, you'll have to modprobe -r 2800usb and modprobe the STA driver for the card.

    If you are using BackTrack 4 or 4r1, there is a tut on the site to get you going.
    Last edited by skinnypuppy; 12-03-2010 at 09:57 PM.
    I may have been born with a silver spoon in my mouth but it does not mean I like to be spoon fed.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Quote Originally Posted by skinnypuppy View Post
    You obviously failed to search the forum before posting this as the AWUS036NH does work. I have one so I know this for a fact. BT4R2 loads the rt2800usb driver which works for mon/inj, if you want to surf the net, you'll have to modprobe -r 2800usb and modprobe the STA driver for the card.
    I did indeed search the forum however the results were not satisfactory, I do remember that you also did post on these threads with positive results by using this particular card, as of now I am interested in getting the correct setup for it to be able to check for nearby AP's, if you are able to point my in the correct direction for this issue "no wireless network found" I would be very pleased.

    I have the /etc/init.d/networking started and would like to connect with wicd first of all to make sure it is working, I believe this is where the modprobe -r 2800usb comes in. However for the airmon-ng mon0 issue this should already be using the "correct" firmware out of the box if I understand correctly. That is why I am puzzled as why I am not able to find any nearby AP's. Additionally I get a "no dhcpoffers received. no working leases in persistent database sleeping" when starting up the networks using the /etc/init.d/networking command, however that would be because I have not given the machine SSID/WPA2 key (which I was gonna try out using the wicd).

    Thanks again for your time!

  4. #4
    Member skinnypuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Here is what I get when I do airmon-ng from cli:

    Code:
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Atheros         ath5k - [phy0]
    wlan1           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy2]
    wlan2           Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy1]
    airmon-ng start wlan1 produces this:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan1
    
    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    
    PID     Name
    17667   dhclient
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Atheros         ath5k - [phy0]
    wlan1           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy2]
                                    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)
    wlan2           Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy1]
    aireplay-ng -9 mon0 produces this:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    17:22:55  Trying broadcast probe requests...
    17:22:56  Injection is working!
    17:22:57  Found 18 APs
    airodump-ng mon0 produces:

    Code:
    CH  1 ][ Elapsed: 4 s ][ 2010-12-03 17:45
    
     BSSID              PWR  Beacons    #Data, #/s  CH  MB   ENC  CIPHER AUTH ESSID
    
     00:00:00:00:00:00  10      40        0    0   1  54e  WPA2 CCMP   PSK  Hacker_Pwned
    
     BSSID              STATION            PWR   Rate    Lost  Packets  Probes
    Hacker_Pwned is my AP, (obviously BSSID has been changed) all the rest of the AP's show up, I just didn't show that.

    I do not use the etc/init.d script to start networking. I start whatever services I need manually.

    You used to have to use the rt2870sta driver on older kernels to connect to the net, but I can go into wicd and connect to my WPA2 AP fine with the rt2800usb driver in 4r2 2.6.35.8 and the 2.6.36.1 Gentoo.
    Last edited by skinnypuppy; 12-04-2010 at 12:06 AM.
    I may have been born with a silver spoon in my mouth but it does not mean I like to be spoon fed.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Thanks for your info this is what I get:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
    
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0
    
    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    
    PID     Name
    6338    dhclient3
    6564    dhclient3
    Process with PID 6338 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0
    
    
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
                                    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)
    
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng check kill
    
    
    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    
    PID     Name
    6338    dhclient3
    6564    dhclient3
    Process with PID 6338 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0
    Killing all those processes...
    
    root@bt:~# aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    13:21:34  Trying broadcast probe requests...
    
    13:21:36  No Answer...
    13:21:36  Found 0 APs
    Input is very much appreciated!

    Note: This was done on a clean install BT4R2 VMWare 7.1.3 with the removable device (awus036nh) activated.

    also the /etc/init.d/networking scripts was used, since I am not completely familiar with getting it started manually.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    110

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Maybe you must first kill only PID 6564 as you can see 6338 is wlan0, which is your rt2800usb. "Killing all those processes...", so nothing is up anymore I guess. Or first kill all, then put up your mon0 and then type: aireplay-ng -9 mon0

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Hello!
    -could you suggest me a wireless card?
    what do you think of the 802.11N standard?
    -is it worth to buy one which supports the new standard?


    1. awus036h - RTL8187L - 1000mw
    -I've read that this is the best because of its chipset, but it is only b/g

    1a. "TOP" 8dbi 1000mw RTL8187L
    -cheaper alternative with the same chipset + directional antenna
    link

    1b. Wifi-link clipper 5dbi 800mw
    -this one has super design, but dont know which chipset
    link
    -on ebay it has backtrack dragon logo
    link

    1c -dealextreme 2 antenna

    2. awus036nh - RT3070
    -It is b/g/n ,but don't know how good is that chipset

    2a. High Power Wireless 1T2R 802.11N USB Adapter
    -alternative for awus036nh
    -better design, but dont know which chipset
    link

    I'm looking forward to your suggestions!
    thanks...

  8. #8
    Member skinnypuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
    Posts
    154

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    When you start BT4 in VM, do not start the /etc/init.d network start script. Try to do an airmon-ng start "wlanx" and then try to do an aireplay-ng -9 "wlanx" to see if you can get the card to inject and show ap's.

    Note: Problem has been solved for the OP by trying the above tip that I suggested above. Copy/Paste from PM so that the rest of the forum may benefit.

    I normally DO NOT respond to a PM asking for assistance that may benefit others in the forum so for future reference to all that participate in the forums, if I offer my assistance to you, I will do my absolute best to help you resolve the issue. If I do not get back to you immediately it is because I also have a life and obligations or may simply not know the answer and am trying to help the best that I can. I will try to get back to you as soon as possible. If you keep your questions in the forum, someone may come up with an answer for you in the meantime.

    Thank You
    I may have been born with a silver spoon in my mouth but it does not mean I like to be spoon fed.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: ALFA AWUS036NH "No wireless network found" - both WICD and Airodump-ng mon0

    Thanks skinnypuppy I will try my card out and come back if I have any major issues!

Similar Threads

  1. aircrack -ng "key found" not logging into wicd?
    By Damon Jones in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 07:40 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2010, 06:36 AM
  3. Wicd says "This network requires encryption to be enabled". Why?
    By balding_parrot in forum Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2010, 06:36 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-15-2009, 03:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •