Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: the virtual machine not connecting to the bridge connection correctly?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default the virtual machine not connecting to the bridge connection correctly?

    The virtual machine may not be able to communicate with the host or with other machines on your network. I have vmware workstation 7.1.3

    how do i start this correctly so the vmware workstation works with backtrack 4 correctly after it loads up... so i can run /etc/init.d/networking start so i get interface wlan0 correctly connected in virtual machine

    right now i am getting no such device wlan0 so what do i do please

    i got the network bridged automatically in virtual settings Replicate is unchecked in the box

  2. #2
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: the virtual machine not connecting to the bridge connection correctly?

    in a konsole terminal try
    Code:
    root@bt:~# modprobe -l | grep vm
    which should list the vmware modules you have available. If nothing is listed the modules may not have been built during the installation. You may also want to try it without the pipe to grep and see if you have any modules for vmware that way also. If they are present, you will want to
    use modprobe to add them in. To check if you already have these modules loaded you can use
    Code:
    root@bt:~# lsmod | grep vm
    again you can omit the grep if you like. vmnet is really the one in question. Also if you run ifconfig -a you should see some vmnet adapters. If I recall correctly you may need to do something like
    Code:
    root@bt:~# /etc/init.d/vmware start
    FYI I've never installed vmware in bt4. I have installed it in gentoo and ubuntu 10.04. Gentoo is where I had similar trouble to what you describe
    Last edited by iproute; 12-03-2010 at 02:53 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    173

    Default Re: the virtual machine not connecting to the bridge connection correctly?

    If your looking for wlan0 it seems your using usb wifi device?
    If your using the bridged device in vmware then it will be as follows

    #ifconfig eth0 up
    #dhclient eth0

    job done

    if you have external wifi usb adapter the make sure it is ticked in the removable devices in vmware then as follows

    #lsusb (to see what usb devices are connected.)

    #ifconfig wlan0 up (or ra0 depends what is availabe)
    #dhclient wlan0

    for internet on the usb device as follows

    #/etc/init.d/wicd start

    done!

    For bt4 final in vmware 7+ please note if you have a rtl8187 in bt4 r1 or r2 then you will do following

    #rmmod rtl8187
    #rfkill block all
    #rfkill unblock all
    #modprobe rtl8187
    #rfkill unblock all
    #ifconfig wlan0 up

    Kind Regards Dee

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: the virtual machine not connecting to the bridge connection correctly?

    Hi,
    after do all this happen please help
    'wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device'
    intel link 1000 bgn

    ))

Similar Threads

  1. Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?
    By alhosany in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-26-2010, 02:14 PM
  2. Did my download of the BackTrack ISO or Virtual machine complete correctly?
    By balding_parrot in forum Frequently Asked Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2010, 06:25 AM
  3. BT4-PreFinal as a Virtual Machine
    By Dr_IDE in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Working Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 08:54 PM
  4. Bridge & Routing connection
    By playtrack in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-12-2009, 07:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •