Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bt4 + dwl-g132

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Question Bt4 + dwl-g132

    Setup:

    Vmware 7 + BT 4

    When i bridge my workstation to my laptop's wireless, i've got an internet conx, but obvisouly i cant use the BT features like this
    So i got myself a dongle (DWL-G132).

    I've also downloaded the driver (ar5523) but i cant get it installed..
    i've read about ndiswrapper etc.. but i cant get it to work.

    So when i bridge my workstation to this dongle instead of my laptop's wireless it doesnt recognize the device (duh, no drivers) + obisously it fails to obtain an ip from my router..

    Ive found a ton of topics concerning this issue or this dongle, but i cant find any descent topic that discribes step by step how to get this ** driver installed..

    I'm only into linux since a few months, and that's only Debian/CentOS with setting up apache/mailserver/samba etc...
    So this is a totally new section for me.

    There's nothing to it, cracking WEP etc, when u boot from BT4.. anyone can follow a braindead tutorial, youtube has tons of it
    But i'd like to get it working through VMWare with the dongle..
    And then i'd like to really "learn" stuff, not just copy/paste things like a lot of people and then go like 'look at me, i can hack :/'

    But when it comes to installing drivers, im really stuck, so sorry for being totally noob

    If you need any outputs or echo's, just shout!

    I've gotten all the standard errors;

    - no such device (wlan0)
    - no wireless extentions
    - ..

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: Bt4 + dwl-g132

    What does lsusb , iwconfig , ifconfig tell.

    You should connect that USB wlan device from the down right of the VMware window.

  3. #3
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Bt4 + dwl-g132

    Quote Originally Posted by Lt.Luna View Post
    Setup:

    Vmware 7 + BT 4
    ...
    i've read about ndiswrapper etc.. but i cant get it to work.
    ...
    So when i bridge my workstation to this dongle instead of my laptop's wireless it doesnt recognize the device (duh, no drivers) + obisously it fails to obtain an ip from my router..
    1) So you're running VMware. Good choice.
    2) ndiswrapper won't work. Ever. Don't believe me? -> compatibility_drivers [Aircrack-ng] and search for the word "ndis" on the page.
    3) When you bridge any network adapter in VMWare, it becomes a WIRED device in the VM. Pass it through to the VM, don't bridge it.
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Bt4 + dwl-g132

    Quote Originally Posted by halfdone View Post
    What does lsusb , iwconfig , ifconfig tell.

    You should connect that USB wlan device from the down right of the VMware window.
    I also did that, i connected the usb wlan down the right, but that didnt work either.

    So here's the output;

    BUT:

    When i boot my bt, I always have to service networking restart to get my internet enabled, ill figure out that later, but at that moment my workstation and BT are bridged to my laptop's wireless card. At this moment the usb isnt connected, but its in the usb slot.
    Here's the output:

    IFCONFIG:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0c:29:c7:9f:c6
    inet addr:192.168.0.177 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fec7:9fc6/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:63 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:13 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:5576 (5.5 KB) TX bytes:1286 (1.2 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    LSUSB:

    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 2001:3a03 D-Link Corp. [hex] DWL-G132 (no firmware)
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

    IWCONFIG:

    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    Ok, so now i connected the usb device, and normally i'd now put the usb wlan into bridging with bt - laptop.. 'cause i didntnt know yet how to pass it through.. and then service networking restart, but now i cant select the usb wlan anymore from the list to bridge it..
    so i've just connected it now, but workstation stays bridged to laptop's wireless, and that gives me this:

    Output:

    IFCONFIG:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0c:29:c7:9f:c6
    inet addr:192.168.0.177 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fec7:9fc6/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3876 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3251 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:3558652 (3.5 MB) TX bytes:534277 (534.2 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x2000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1500 (1.5 KB) TX bytes:1500 (1.5 KB)


    LSUSB:

    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 2001:3a03 D-Link Corp. [hex] DWL-G132 (no firmware)
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

    IWCONFIG:

    iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    When i tried to connect the wlan usb this time, vmware gave me error4...
    i took it out and put it back in, then i could connect it again..

    I hope i've been clear enough

    Quote Originally Posted by xX_Spiidey_Xx View Post
    1) So you're running VMware. Good choice.
    2) ndiswrapper won't work. Ever. Don't believe me? -> compatibility_drivers [Aircrack-ng] and search for the word "ndis" on the page.
    3) When you bridge any network adapter in VMWare, it becomes a WIRED device in the VM. Pass it through to the VM, don't bridge it.
    I believe you!

    so 3) --> pass it through, i've tried searching on google to 'map' an usb device to vmware but that didnt result in anything..
    can you tell me how?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Bt4 + dwl-g132

    You have 3 choices when it comes to networking in a virtual environment.
    1. host only
    2. bridged.
    3. NAT.

    Google
    The above info and google search will get you going.
    The first two or 3 links will be very helpful.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Bt4 + dwl-g132

    Hi,
    I have the same problem with windows 7 , VMware
    BT4 and usb wireless card tp-link wn321g

    when I type lsusb I see that the card is shown
    when I type iwconfig I get "wlan0 no such device"
    when I type /etc/init.d/networking start I get "failed to up wlan0 - no such device"
    when I type airmon-ng start wlan0 I see that there is nothing under interface or device or anything.

    What Can I do?
    Please help me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •