Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Installing backtrack using only the terminal no gui available

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Installing backtrack using only the terminal no gui available

    HI , i have to install backtrack using only the terminal , i remeber there was a how-to somewhere but i can't find it ...

    I ve found this : http://www.offensive-security.com/do...hd-install.pdf

    but it's incomplete because after partitiong he starts the gui , and i can't do it ( plus i would learn to install backtrack without using the gui )

    Somebody can provide me some hints or the link to the how to i said before ??

    Many thanks !

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default Re: Installing backtrack using only the terminal no gui available

    I wrote this for backtrack 3 but you should be able to make it work for bt4 with a little google and some common sense.

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...html#post73975

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Installing backtrack using only the terminal no gui available

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    I wrote this for backtrack 3 but you should be able to make it work for bt4 with a little google and some common sense.

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...html#post73975

    Yeah right i remember that intro x-D nice

    Many thanks!

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Installing backtrack using only the terminal no gui available

    hi ! i ve followed your guide , adapting it to backtrack , i succeed in copying all the stuff, but when i try to do grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sda1 /dev/sda it returns to me : The file /mnt/sda1/boot/grub/stage1 not read correctly

    So i went into the grub interface

    grub> root(hd0,0)/
    Possibile files are: lost+found bin dev home pentest root usr boot lib etc opt sbin var mnt proc sys tmp

    So i went for /boot and it gives me

    grub> root (hd0,0)/boot/1ochem1ca1

    And this for ALL the directory !! Inside any directory there is 1ochem1cal ...

    what is that ?

    In the /mnt/sda1 correctly mounted there are the right files ... it's odd ..

    Can u give me a hint ? thanks very much

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 10:37 AM
  2. how to set backtrack 4 in the terminal mode?
    By ozzzia in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 07:56 PM
  3. Need terminal help
    By Ghost40 in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 02:58 AM
  4. Terminal application
    By imported_Chucky in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 01:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •