Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37

    Default So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    I got my last computer hardware updated and would like to take advantage of the full power of the hardware, CPU, Ram, and so forth..

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    We are looking at 64 bit for bt5 beta.

  3. #3
    Senior Member voidnecron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    Any word on the tool availability? OS can be x64, but most tools aren't (yet?)
    "The difference between RAID1 and RAID0 is that the zero stands for how many files you're gonna have after a harddisk failure."

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    This is the reason we have not yet gone to 64 bit. Most pentest tools are not capable of utilizing 64 capabilities anyway. The only "real" advantage to 64 bit is to get rid of the 2 gig page file limit and increasing the available memory . Sadly, people have been conditioned to believe more is beter so they just demand a 64 bit OS even though they have no idea why they would need it. Its sort of like updating, people wanna update their system 3 times a day even though they barely ever use any of the tools, they just want to do it to be doing something.

  5. #5
    Senior Member voidnecron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    Hahaha, I hear you.
    "The difference between RAID1 and RAID0 is that the zero stands for how many files you're gonna have after a harddisk failure."

  6. #6
    Junior Member Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    It will be good if all the tool developers trun to x64.But why don't they develop a x64 version?

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO CrazyBranch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    It will be good if all the tool developers trun to x64.But why don't they develop a x64 version?
    Because they have no x64 platform to develop for? It's a closed circle which should be broken by platform developers in order to encourage developers for 64bit appz

  8. #8
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    outside chicago, il
    Posts
    442

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
    It will be good if all the tool developers trun to x64.But why don't they develop a x64 version?
    1. They don't have the hardware.
    2. They don't know how.

    Converting and application to 64 bit isn't easy especially if you are trying to maintain 32bit compatibility. You have to worry about the size of int, long, and pointers on each platform. They are different sizes. The UNIX System -- 64bit and Data Size Neutrality has a nice chart showing the size differences. These size differences can affect the alignment of any structs used in your program.
    I like the bleeding edge, but I don't like blood loss

  9. #9
    Junior Member jirtos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    And what now, when BT5 is released? Who from you will download and actually use 64bit Arch?

  10. #10
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    outside chicago, il
    Posts
    442

    Default Re: So does Back Track plan on going 64bit?

    I am downloading via torrent both the 32 and 64 isos. I have 64 bit hardware at work and 32 bit at home. If the torrent is any indication the 64 bit iso completed downloading in 50 minutes. The 32 bit version has been downloading for 70 minutes with an ETA of 6 hours.
    I like the bleeding edge, but I don't like blood loss

Similar Threads

  1. Why i can´t use back track R1?
    By kmdragon100 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 12:58 AM
  2. Pls back-track ppl help me.
    By Charliez in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 09:22 AM
  3. I am new to Back Track
    By danial9696 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 08:43 AM
  4. PDA + Back|Track = Pocket|Track?!?!
    By ShadowKill in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 12:53 AM
  5. Plan to take online course, hardware suggestions?
    By sirusx69 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 11:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •