Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BT4 R1 Wont Boot

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default BT4 R1 Wont Boot

    I have bt4 installed on my hdd on my laptop everything works great,

    but when i go to boot the bt4 r1 dvd it will keep trying to mount the root filesystem until it finally goes into a busybox shell..

    Ive been trying to solve the problem but i havnt found anything that works

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: BT4 R1 Wont Boot

    wow... original. not to mention detailed. you rock.

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...-checking.html

    or even better:
    Advanced Search - BackTrack Forums

    seriously... just a LITTLE effort in the future, k?
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT4 R1 Wont Boot

    The md5 checks out (first thing i checked), i did search every damn post about this problem and none of the threads had a solution that worked

  4. #4
    Member macphail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    164

    Default Re: BT4 R1 Wont Boot

    Quote Originally Posted by BaitMaster View Post
    Ive been trying to solve the problem but i havnt found anything that works
    well, let me fire up my crystal ball and give you a proper answer like I should have done from the beginning then, neh?

    ---
    just searching this site for "boot busybox" gives me 4 pages of results...4 pages. a total of 98 separate threads. assuming that you weren't being just a 'bit' dramatic and actually did search "every damn post about this problem", then I would say you have yourself a no-win scenario here. of course, i'm sure that you have also searched the entire internet for this same issue (google reported about 91,700 results for "boot busybox error", which it happily fed me in 0.2 seconds).

    i'm not saying that nobody will help you, understand. what i am saying is that without giving us quite a bit of information about hardware involved, steps attempted to resolve, results of those steps (if any) with any relevant error messages, log entries, etc.... your chances of getting any of us to care half a frak is limited at best. you really need to convince us that you are serious enough to help yourself first.

    good luck with that...
    -----------
    ~peace
    MacPhail

  5. #5
    Junior Member lokschmidt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: BT4 R1 Wont Boot

    have you tried booting the dvd in other computer maybe the physcal media is the problem?
    It's time to free yer Mind; It's time to cleanse yer Soul

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT4 R1 Wont Boot

    Yeah it boots fine on my win 7 comp

    i just think its weird that backtrack 4 boots fine on my laptop but when i try to boot backtrack 4 r1 it fails.

Similar Threads

  1. dual boot machine wont boot backtrack from the harddrive?
    By Techevo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2010, 02:36 AM
  2. BT3 wont boot
    By jlvabt3newb in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-09-2009, 02:31 PM
  3. my bt wont boot.. [help pls]
    By Loxis in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 01:18 AM
  4. bt2 wont boot
    By matj1990 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 10:29 AM
  5. Windows wont boot after BT boot
    By alexffm in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-07-2007, 08:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •