Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Metasploit and Hostnames?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Hi people

    i have recently switched ISPs and i have lost my static IP address.. So i currently have a Dynamic IP..

    I have signed up with no-ip.com to get a hostname and have tryed using Metasploit..

    I have set the LHOST as myhostname.com and configured the rest of the exploit.

    Code:
    set LHOST myhostname.com
    and it does not seem to work..

    Does Metasploit support using hostnames instaed of IPs or am i doing somthing wrong?..

    If Metasploit does not support hostnames for either LHOST or RHOST what are people with Dynamic IPs supposed to do..

    Cheers Guys..

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    You would have to set up internal dns inside your lan for that to work I think.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    would i have to do this even though i have a reverse shell coming back to me from WWW side, through my router (i have fowarded ports) and to me on my private LAN..

    plus i thought no-ip.com took care of the dns side of things..

  4. #4
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Why not set the metasploit to your Dynamic IP ? I have a dynamic IP and it works fine.
    Or you could use a VPN I think.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    @sickness

    i could use my dynamic IP, i just wanted to try and get it as close to a static IP as i could.

    My ISP randomly changes the IP so its just a bit of a bitch when it changes when ive been used to a static one for years.

  6. #6
    Member whitelisted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    72

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Quote Originally Posted by CeEe4 View Post
    Does Metasploit support using hostnames instaed of IPs or am i doing somthing wrong?..

    If Metasploit does not support hostnames for either LHOST or RHOST what are people with Dynamic IPs supposed to do..

    Cheers Guys..
    Most exploit payloads are deliberately engineered to be as small as possible so as to work within the limitations of space that might be imposed by the particular exploit you are trying to run.

    The payload for meterpreter/reverse_tcp, for example, is 290 bytes in size.

    Putting in additional bloat to support hostname resolution - especially when it's unneeded 99.99% of the time - would be undesirable in most instances.


    Perhaps one of the other payloads might be a better option for you - try looking into passivex.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Hi Sickness? Is possible make meterpreter backdoor with LHOST= no-ip hostname for reverse connection and bypass firewall?

  8. #8
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Mortem View Post
    Hi Sickness? Is possible make meterpreter backdoor with LHOST= no-ip hostname for reverse connection and bypass firewall?
    Dr. Mortem,
    The answer is yes you can. You'll need to use a slightly different payload.

    Instead of using meterpreter/reverse_tcp, you would want to use
    meterpreter/reverse_tcp_dns

    which will allow you to set LHOST to hostname.no-ip.com

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Thank you Iproute!!!
    First I tried to perform to make meterpreter backdoor exe in this method Metasploit over the internet. « ihasomgsecurityskills and don't work?
    1).I forwarded port tcp/udp 3460 in NAT options of my router to my internal IP of BT4 installed on my hard dual boot...
    2).ufw disable on BT and on my Router
    I'm connected via wirelless on my router
    3).Victim machine win XP SP3 firewall and AV disabled
    Is it possible that my ISP blocked exploit attack on any changed tcp/udp port? for reverse connection I used also bind_tcp and non worked?
    4.)After i tested poison ivy trojan on my windows and infected my machine via no-ip and port 3460 external and works exellent!!!
    Where is the my problem on Metesploit over the internet???
    I scanned my router ip in nmap results is: Discovered open port 139/tcp on 192.168.1.1
    Discovered open port 80/tcp on 192.168.1.1
    Discovered open port 515/tcp on 192.168.1.1

    Where is the problem? Thanks...

  10. #10
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Metasploit and Hostnames?

    Did you use the same method as in my tutorial ? Did you create a meterpreter/reverse_tcp or meterpreter/reverse_tcp_dns ?
    I see you forwarded port 3460 tcp/udp to your internal IP but did you set the LPORT of the payload to that port ? or the listener on that port ?
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Metasploit Reverse TCP
    By blarch3030 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 10:20 AM
  2. Metasploit Migration Bug
    By dtoliaferro in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 07:18 PM
  3. Metasploit Firewall
    By MassAppeal in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2010, 05:38 PM
  4. Metasploit Videos
    By m-1-k-3 in forum BackTrack Videos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 12:09 AM
  5. introduction to metasploit
    By EcKo in forum BackTrack Howtos
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 06:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •