Thread: bypass wifi network "security" scan

Just burned his ISO

Default bypass wifi network "security" scan

Hey everyone, I'm new to backtrack and relatively new to linux. So bare with me if I might overlook the obvious. But my question seems that it may be more than just a beginner question, regardless to be safe, I'll throw it in here.

Anyway, let me explain my situation. I have a netbook that's running a dual boot of linux mint and backtrack. When I try to connect to the wifi at school, it allows me to do so without the use of a wep/wpa, instead when I open a web browser (firefox) it automatically redirects and asks for my student ID along with the password. Internet is unaccessible without it.

The Problem: I put in the ID and password and it directs me to a page that says that I need to install the newest java. I did so, then I kept getting that same message. I went to the IT desk and asked them what's up. They told me that I don't have an antivirus and that the network does a scan (using java) of each wireless computer that connects to the network to see if it has up to date java, antivirus, and an active firewall. If it doesn't, it won't allow the computer to connect for fear of infecting the network if your computer is sick. WHICH IS FUNNY, since you can hardwire yourself into the network without being scanned and have full access (I tried). Anyway, I installed AVG and tried yet again, with failure. The IT desk at this point abandoned me saying that "they don't know." "We don't do Linux." My netbook was all of a sudden running a lot slower due to the antivirus and the fact I'm using an atom processor. So I uninstalled AVG since it didn't give me the result I'm looking for.